We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very average service”
Review of Lip's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lip's Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, very average service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Food was very tasty, but service was not good. When asked about a dish on the menu was told "if that's what it says that's how it comes". I asked if they had served the dish before was told" yes many times but I've also served many other dishes and I've only worked here 3 weeks".
Go there for the food, the scallops, oysters, and venison are worth trying..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank redesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    11
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maorichikita
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Enjoyed a nice family dinner here for a bithday. Very reasonably priced and really good staff. A pity it isn't busier.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank maorichikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent family restaurant”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

if you are looking for a quiet place for a good meal away from the noise and bustle look no further.this is where the locals go and gives good value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Tonight was our second night in a row eating here. Everything we have had was delicious, generous portions and beautifully presented. We even had the eye fillet dish that received the 1 out of 5 rating by another reviewer. Please don't be fooled - its a definite 5! The cream cheese and bacon wontons were the best part of the dish too.

We will be going there again tomorrow morning to try out the breakfast. If you are ever in paihia, make sure you visit lips!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good priced for good food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Tasty pizzas, quick and efficient and decent portions. Was very quiet when we went in so was skeptical.. but is cheaper than all other pizza places in Paihia and still tasty

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lip's Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing