We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They starved us to death”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $7 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“They starved us to death”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The restaurant has the best location in Paihia but their service and food quality weren't near the best for sure. It was a bit chilly but my friend and I decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. We ordered some drinks and food, but we got our food nearly 50 mins after we ordered them and by then, we were starved and freezed to death. we had already finished our drinks by the time they brought the food so we ordered some more drinks but we got them after we finished the food..what's worse, the food wasn't worth the waiting. We went to another restaurant to have some more food and drinks after all the waiting and being freezing and spending a lot of money!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carissahwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    360
    205
    137
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Left disappointed and hungry...”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

2 adults and 2 children for an early dinner. Very disappointed by food. Children's menu only had one option available - fish and chips - and both children were still hungry portion was so small. Adults food was also not as you would expect. Would not visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi there - thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We must apologise that we could only offer one item of the items from the childrens menu on your visit, I understand that with it being the Easter holidays we had sold out of some produce. We are currently looking into adding more variety to the childrens menu and have discussed as a team how we can avoid this issue happening during busy periods. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walked in...walked out!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked a table for 2 earlier in the day. I had read the reviews but thought we would try it anyway. The restaurant was not full and we were seated at a table by a doorway and then my chair was moved so I was seated at a right angle next to my husband. The table was very small and the seating arrangement was awkward so I asked the waitress if we could be moved. She looked surprised and muttered something about that she would ask. That was enough for us. We got up and walked out to spend our $$$$ elsewhere. The guy in charge ran after us but we told him not to bother.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lex_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi there. We understand that it may seem odd when the restaurant is not full and staff would have to check if you could be moved but we do take a lot of bookings and inform everyone that we cannot ensure their desired table. However this is a matter that should have been dealt with in a more hospitable way and we are sorry if you were made to feel uncomfortable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look it with our front of house team, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just Awesome!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Great food! Spectacular views! Fantastic aquarium! Awesome service from our waitress Hannah! When in Paihia this place is a must!

Helpful?
Thank Bevan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Bevan - thanks for a great review. We are very pleased to hear that you received great service from our lovely Hannah - we will be sure to pass your feedback on and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Seafood platter”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really liked the seafood platter, the best Salmon we have ever had, The Pav was a let down as it really was just a meringue, would visit again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi Cam. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very pleased to hear that the salmon was the best you ever had, what a compliment. I will be sure to pass on your comments on the platter and the pav to the chef. We hope you had an enjoyable trip to Paihia. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing