We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pricey and small servings”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $7 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had breakfast here on our first morning in Paihia. The setting on the water was beautiful and the service prompt and attentive. My husband and I ordered bacon and eggs on toast. They came served on a slice of toast about 6x3cm so although cooked well and very tasty we certainly weren't full when we left.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Andrea - we are sorry to hear that you weren't 100% with your breakfast, I have passed your feedback regarding portion size of the bread on to the chef and hopefully this is something that will be addressed. It's great to hear that your service was prompt and attentive and that you enjoyed our views. We hope you had a great trip to Paihia. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had drinks on the terrace earlier in the day and decided to return for dinner. The view is amazing! We asked for a window seat and while they couldn't guarantee, they did accommodate us when we arrived. Service was very good. We had the seafood platter for two and it was outstanding! There was a lot go food, a sampler of every seafood on the menu. Would definitely recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food. We hope to see you again and trust you enjoyed your stay in Paihia. King regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This restaurant is divided into two sections. If you want the view, I'd suggest just having drinks on the wharf. The food and service at the restaurant were very poor and limited. We told them that we were celebrating a special birthday so they gave us a window seat which was nice, but it went downhill very quickly from there. No cocktail menu in the restaurant, they had to get our Margaritas from the bar on the wharf. We ordered a seafood platter for 2, yet we had to look hard to find the seafood. There was a small dish of oysters and mussels, some grilled fish, but where were the prawns? Apparently mashed in with the voluminous mashed potatoes that formed the centrepiece of the platter - I found a couple of very small prawns that looked like they were the tinned or frozen variety? I would suggest the seafood platter should be renamed the carbohydrate platter as it was full of pita bread, tortillas, potatoes and hommus with a small amount of seafood. Even the desserts were limited in range. We ordered a bottle of champagne, only to have it served in an ordinary wine glass and we had to keep topping up our own glasses throughout the meal, yet they claim to be fine dining.
Overall, a very disappointing restaurant. Plenty of other restaurants around in Paihia that serve better food at half the price with good service. Around NZ$200 for a terrible meal for 2 people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sydaus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the meal you had. Our platter is made up of oysters, roughly 6-8 pickled mussels, calamari, a portion of grilled swordfish (pictured on top of the prawn mash, a portion of grilled Hapuka to the front of the picture, four gurnard tortillas, salmon pate (seen to the back of your picture) which is accompanied by lemon hummus and pita. The prawns are mashed into the potato, as we do not have access to prawns in the Bay of Islands unfortunately we do buy them in frozen but the fish mussels and oysters are all sourced locally. I have passed your feedback on to the chef regarding what may be seen as an appropriate sized serving of mash with the platter.
We totally agree that the champagne should have been served in the appropriate glass and I have spoken with the front of house team regarding this. While we take pride in the produce and service we have to offer, we do not claim to be fine dining and have a contemporary family restaurant that aims to please all our customers. We are sorry to hear that you found the menu limited and that we didn’t meet your high expectations. We hope you enjoyed your time in Paihia, Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The view is great, but the food was terrible . The steak was tough, bland and gristly and served with foul tasting potato cakes. The gurnard was tiny and accompanied by a mayonnaise that had no flavour and piccalilli with no zing ! the waitress tried to tell us that the steak should have gristle through it and could not care less that we did not enjoy our meals. Avoid the food and just have a drink, we wish that we had !!

Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi Nik - we are very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at the restaurant. The steak we serve should be of the highest quality - it is scotch fillet which naturally has soon fat marbled through but to hear that you felt your waitress 'could not care less' that you didn't enjoy your meals is very disappointing as we aim for our customers to leave feeling very satisfied with the quality of their meal and we like to deal with any food complaints in an efficient manner at the time of dining so we apologise that this was not dealt with in a correct manner. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we will take your feedback on board. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ate here one night whilst in Paihia. I thought that the menu could have been a little larger, but what we had was very nice. The waiting staff were very helpful and keen to please.

Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Linda - thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant. We are very pleased the staff were helpful and you enjoyed your meal. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Paihia. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing