We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showed promise”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Showed promise”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Centrally located on the waterfront in Paihia, this restaurant is in a fabulous location.

Although the lunch menu was quite restricted, the food on it looked enticing. Service was a little slow, considering there were very few people in the restaurant. However, the food was nicely presented and looked good to eat when it arrived.

My wife enjoyed the meatballs and had the pork with a leek and potato pie accompaniment. The pork was cooked well, juicy and not at all dry. However, the accompanying pesto whilst fresh was a little overpowering for the dish, and the leek and potato with a pie crust topping lacked any real depth of flavour.

Service was also average, with the waitress getting the wine order wrong and not offering any extras, eg pepper.

Would I return? Probably, in the hope that the small issues we had were one-offs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time out to write this review. We appreciate your feedback as it is essential for us to improve. We also love the pictures you uploaded! Hopefully you had a fantastic trip to New Zealand, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    354
    202
    135
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We both enjoyed our meals. I had the best chicken caesar salad ive had in a long time. We were seated with a view of the water so it was just beautiful. We will be back next time we visit Paihia.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xoxo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi - thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. We are very pleased by your comment on the caesar salad and look forward to seeing you when you next return to Paihia! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“High expectations but disapointed”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and my partner were really looking forward to having a relaxing meal here but first impressions weren't great. First we were seated right next to the kitchen surrounded by noisy staff and a service bell going off every two seconds. The table next to us sent their meals back which didn't give us high expectations about our food, we ordered the lamb which was average at best the mash that came with it was not nice. We didn't bother staying for dessert. I will say though that the wait staff were pleasant. Probably won't bother revisiting in the future!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Georgina - We are very sorry to hear that your experience at the restaurant was disappointing. Unfortunately at this time of year we can be very busy and are sorry that you did not enjoy where you were seated close to the kitchen and the pass where food is served from. I have passed your feedback regarding the food to the chef. We are glad that you found the front of house team pleasant. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great spot”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We just had drinks but the bar menu looked very good too. It is a great place to sit in the sun at the end of a day in the Bay!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi there - thanks very much for a great review, we hope to see you again at some point to try our delicious menu! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Disaster!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Picture the scene.... Nine of us on a family holiday... All travelled from different parts of the world for Debbie's Birthday. We selected 35 degrees south because of its beautiful setting.... Which was the only good thing about it!! We waited half an hour for our drinks order to even be taken then another 40 minutes for them to arrive. When they did arrive our wine was warm!

Eventually our food arrived.... Most was ok but the Calarmi was raw and the bowl was full of flour! Also, five pieces is not a main size!!! One of the steaks was ordered "medium" and it came blue!

No one checked back to see if our food was ok and when we approached staff regarding our drinks and food we were received coldly and given such attitude, especially from one waitress we think was called sian??

The manager herself was slightly more polite but still didn't really seem apologetic about the terrible service and food. It really ruined the birthday dinner and I would really suggest people avoid this restaurant. It is a shame because the location is stunning!

We would have had spent a lot more money on drinks and dessert if we didn't have to wait so long. We nearly walked out before the drinks arrived and now we wish we had!

Also, every table around us complained too!


  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clareywain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Clare - we are very sorry to learn of your experience at the restaurant and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We have raised these issues with both kitchen and front of house staff as this is not how we hope for the restaurant to run. We would like to offer our sincere apologies regarding your experience and to ensure you that this is not normal practice or deemed acceptable. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing