We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly lively dinner spot on the water”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #26 of 63 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just had a lovely evening looking for lighter meal for two somewhere with atmosphere. Friendly welcoming staff in spite of large group - 20+ -needing served. Had 3 small plates between us plus cheese plate perfect amount all tasty and original, no complaints, wine good range and local beer generously supplied.

Thank SJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hi SJR, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you felt welcomed to the restaurant. We always try our best to accommodate people who wish to dine. The small plates are great if you don't fancy a heavy meal and a great way to try a few dishes out. We like to think our menu is pretty special and the food has a unique twist to it. We hope you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 829 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had breakfast and dinner here. Interesting concept with a large circular tank in the centre. Dinner menu was pretty comprehensive, but the breakfast was not. Meals were a little dear, but were substantial. Would recommend it for dinner. Staff were 100% on the ball!

Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi Dennis. Thanks for a great review of the restaurant. We are very pleased that you had a great experience. We have just went live with a more detailed breakfast menu this week due to some of the customer feedback that we received, it is very important for us to pick up on this as all feedback is constructive. I will let the front of house staff know to keep up the good work! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Paihia. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice place to eat on the wharf at Pahia. All tables seemed to have some view of the bay, although further inside, there's also the big aquarium to look at too. Food was well cooked and nicely served. Tasty, and good sized portions, although not especially cheap. The only downside was the 'entertainment' - some guy with a guitar, who was singing flat. He also only appeared to know one guitar chord, although after a short break, he came back with a new riff. Too loud in the space, he really shouldn't have been allowed to have amplifiers. (Or a guitar. Or a microphone!) Otherwise, this restaurant is worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Outinthemiddaysun - thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. The views here are pretty amazing and we have tried to position the tables in a way that you can enjoy both the bay and the aquarium while you dine! We are glad that you enjoyed the menu, we like to think that the price is reflective of the quality of food we serve and in keeping with prices in the area. Our new menu has been running now for just over a month and we are really keen for feedback on it so thank you. It sounds like you dined with us on a friday evening during our 'Friday Social' when we have a few hours of acoustic music from a well respected local musician - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this. We try and create a relaxed, wind down atmosphere and like to think that the music is in keeping with this. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Paihia and had a safe journey. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Designed and headed by my favorite NZ celebrity chef, Mike Van De Elzen, it is THE BEST PLACE in town and district and whole Northland to eat!!!!!!
the food is just amazing as you might expect from such a great chef. what's more, it is really reasonably priced and the views from the restaurant are just great too. BTW you will be eating next to a giant in-door aquarium!!!!
awesome stuff.

Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Ehsan, thanks for such an amazing review. You certainly visited the right place if Mike Van de Elzen is one of your favourite chefs! He has created a wonderful menu for the restaurant and we are glad you enjoyed the food as much as you did. Our aquarium is something you don't come accross often in a restaurant and we are very proud of it. We hope you had a great Labour weekend and thanks again for taking the time to visit and review us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a drink here one evening (it seems fine to just go an nurse a glass of wine and look at the view) and returned for breakfast the following morning - it's conveniently close to the wharf for early boat trips.

The main asset here is the view. On both occasions I got a window table (even as a solo diner) and it is a spectacular place to sit and watch the water.

The price of a glass of wine is a bit steep ($11 or 12 minimum) but you're paying for the real estate.

Breakfast was also a bit pricey. The breakfast menu is fairly limited - I think only four or five choices. I was really looking for some fresh fruit, but had to settle for bircher muesli and grapefruit, which turned out to be bircher muesli and half an orange. It was nice - fresh mint and tinned mango with the muesli, but at about $13, a bit expensive. Again, it's the location you're paying for.

The service was fine, and they hastened to reassure me the evening I just went for a drink that it was fine to just have a drink and look at the view, given that it wasn't busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Kjg66, thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. The view from the restaurant certainly is stunning and we always try our best to accommodate people who would like to sit by the window - as you state, it is a great spot if you are heading off on a day trip! We do have options on our wine list that are under the $11/12 average but we do like to think that our prices reflect the quality of our range and food and indeed are relative to our surrounding area. We thank you for your view on our breakfast menu and we are currently updating the choice due to customer feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable time in New Zealand. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing