We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in the Bays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Bay of Islands is one of the nicest destinations of the North Island.
My wife choose the Sea Spray Suites for a short break away.
I had never heard of Sea Spray Suites but its association with Heritage Hotels through the Boutique Collection programme gave me the confidence that it would be a good choice.
Well, it was.
Sea Spray Suites is located between Paihia and Waitangi, making both accessible by foot, along the beautiful beach.
The unit we stayed in was clean, well appointed and perfect for purpose.
Next time, I think though we would upgrade to a sea view suite.
Being towards the back of the complex, we did not have the views, but advantage may have been that it was therefor very quiet.

When we arrived, our booking was not in the system, due to an oversight by the agent making the booking. It made me a bit nervous and had a "here you go" thought...

Anja, the manager on duty, handled it very well. She immediately said, don't worry, I will check you in, and sort it out!
She did sort it out. We had no worries.

There was no wifi signal in our room.
Not a real issue for me, as I used my smartphone as a wifi hotspot for my wireless devices, however if you do rely on wifi, then you may want to confirm with reception to get a unit allocated which does have wifi....

Our stay was enjoyable and we would recommend this facility.

Room Tip: Check wifi coverage and I think seaview upgrade would be recommmended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley M, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.. It is our aim to ensure our guests have a memorable stay in the Bay of Islands and your feedback is important to us. I hope you had a good trip home and I hope to see you again in the future. Regards Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 690 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and myself and other family members stayed at this motel on Saturday night, we had 2 rooms on the middle floor, overlooking the beach, fabulous view. The room had its very own balcony, with a table and chairs for four people. The room itself was nice and clean, and it was good to have the bedroom at the back, there was no road noise, in fact we woke up late because the bed was so comfy and the curtains were great at blocking out any light. Very friendly service. Nice also to arrive to the lights being on and music playing, and the room was warm:)

Room Tip: A front unit for sure, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Joan J,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. Oversleeping is an excellent result!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in the Bay of Islands!

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sea View Apartment was amazing. Overlooked the beach, with views as far as you could see., Was well laid out - Queen bed and two twins, beautifully furnished. Staff were extremely friendly and helpfu. Had a wonderful time - thank you

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelaD758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Michaela,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, as this is something we strive for on a daily basis. We also appreciate your comments on the suite itself.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for just one night. Paid for an ocean view room and was not disappointed. Unit was large, spacious and well appointed. Great towels in the bathroom. Good location for the family as the sandy beach straight across the road. Only downside was the petrol fumes from the petrol station next door but only noticed them when we arrived. Great stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view rooms - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Happy Traveller,

We are very happy to hear that you remain a happy traveller following your stay with us. We are very happy that you appreciated the benefits of opting for an upgrade, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Paihia.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mrs C and I stayed three nights here, found the complex very tidy and clean. Its relatively new and staff very helpful and kind. Seems like a separately managed branch of boutique hotel chain. more apartment like than Hotel. Max ten mins walk from downtown,(and ferry for Russell) and good supermarket 5 mins away.Beach across the road, NZ Treaty grounds 5 mins walk also. Air con, dishwasher, etc everything you'd need for a long stay even,
We enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Mr C,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are happy that you found our suites met your needs, and yes - our property is managed under the Heritage Boutique Collection.
We hope to see you again next time you are in the Bay of Islands.

Best regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Seaspray Suites is a little way out of the main part of Paihia, but an easy walk of perhaps 10 minutes. The suite was very comfortable and everything seemed quite new. We were happy that we chose Seaspray Suites.

The only problem we encountered during our stay is that parking is very tight.

A few weeks after leaving we discovered that we had been overcharged. While the management apologised and quickly refunded the excess, it should not have happened.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Rozinho,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us, and we apologize again for the mistake on our part. We are happy that this was resolved quickly, and we have since taken further action to ensure this does not happen again.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

very clean and tidy place everything in the room you need when travelling .bed was very comfy . staff very polite not to far away from shops and attractions would stay there again we took our friends from the usa they enjoyed the stay as well

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Albert H,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy to hear that you found our suites clean and comfortable, and we hope to welcome you back next time your are in New Zealand.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $107 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing