We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second time visiting the Bay of Islands and it was important to us to have a room with a view.. We reserved the room facing the ocean because we were going to spend three days mainly relaxing in the hotel. Upon arrival, we were shown our first floor ocean room, which had a great view of parked cars. Because we were an early arrival and great dissatisfaction on our part, we were moved to the second floor, which was what we had paid for! The huge glass doors completely opened up.

The rooms were spotless. Appreciated the kitchen amenities, like the fairly large refrigerator and dishwasher. Appreciated the milk provided daily. Kitchen supplies were more than adequate. Dresser space was lacking. Only had two very small drawers in the night stands. I ended up using the one drawer in the bathroom for clothes.

The outside walkways needed to be given the same attention as the inside rooms. Needed more attention.

We arrived by bus, so had to have a good central location.. The Sea Spray met all our Requirements. The treaty grounds, grocery store and center of Paihia were all within a comfortable walking distance.

Loved being able to hop a ferry and lunch in historic Russell.

Room Tip: Must insist on a second or third floor level. If you are not going to spend much time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    184
    37
    20
    4
See reviews for
107
275
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this accommodation for 2 nights. It was in an excellent location right across the road from the beach and not that far from the main shops. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The Suite was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The only downfall was the amount of stairs when having a lot of luggage and the fact that it is next to a nosiy mechanics who stays open till quite late at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angels_Are_Devious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is no view from any apartments other than the ones at the front and the cleaners take past 3pm to clean the rooms each day, far too long when you have a baby needing a nap. The room was sufficient and clean but I had expected better. However it is in quite a nice area in the fact that it is in walking distance of many attractions. Also the smoking below and drifting into our apartment was not nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley M, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Siandra, Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I appreciate your comments and it is important to us that we receive this feedback so we can continually look at ways to improve. I am pleased your found the location convenient for your needs, but sorry parts of your stay did not meet expectations and apologise for any any convenience with the untimely serving of your room. I agree, smoking is unacceptable when it affects other guests. If you choose to visit Paihia again in the future I would like to thimk you would consider staying with us at Seaspray Suites and choose a sea view suite. Regards Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights with another couple in a two bedroom ocean view apartment. Great base, comfortable and spacious. Was clean and neat. If there was any niggle at all it would be that the shared bathroom (which could be treated as an ensuite by one of the rooms) was a little noisy in the middle of the night if you happened to be in the adjoining room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylegirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In all fairness we cannot complain one bit about this hotel. We booked one of the sea facing rooms, only 8 of them out of all the rooms, and was well worth the money. The room was clean and spaciuos, after all you are not in the Bay of Islands to stay in your room all day. The road outside is quiet even at the busy times of the day and will not disturb you whatever time of day. The centre of Paihia is only a short walk away, 5-10 mins, if not distracted by the views. A great base for any visit to the Bay of Islands and would definately stay there agian

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wally388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we arrived earlier than the time we could officially check in and management was very accomodating. the place was very very nice. very clean. nice to have two tvs and a stove :-). Perfect base camp if touring around bay of islands attractions. helpful staff. had no problems... will most definately stay there again. nice to have a place (the deck) outside to sit and have a coffee in the morning :-)

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor would have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the sea spray suites for one night on the way home from Karikari Peninsula at the end February. We booked over the Internet for a very good price. When we arrived we were extremely pleased with the suite. We were on the ground floor with no view, but since we were there for just the night that was no bother.
Our arrival greeting was very friendly, and complimented with a lovely hand written note with a piece of yummy white chocolate and raspberry fudge from 'get fudged'. I know it was this flavour because I'd previously brought some. Great with a cup of tea and just a small slice.
I just loved the layout of the apartment, OK it was small but it had everything you could need for your stay. Modern tidy and bed was comfortable, very important when you have such long driving times the next day.
I would definitely be looking for more internet deals for this place again, for our next stay.
Well done guys. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Property: Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing