We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern layout for a good night's sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great modern layout for a good night's sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the sea spray suites for one night on the way home from Karikari Peninsula at the end February. We booked over the Internet for a very good price. When we arrived we were extremely pleased with the suite. We were on the ground floor with no view, but since we were there for just the night that was no bother.
Our arrival greeting was very friendly, and complimented with a lovely hand written note with a piece of yummy white chocolate and raspberry fudge from 'get fudged'. I know it was this flavour because I'd previously brought some. Great with a cup of tea and just a small slice.
I just loved the layout of the apartment, OK it was small but it had everything you could need for your stay. Modern tidy and bed was comfortable, very important when you have such long driving times the next day.
I would definitely be looking for more internet deals for this place again, for our next stay.
Well done guys. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    200
    38
    21
    4
See reviews for
112
300
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place is good, clean, with everything you need to cook and use the facilities.
We were received with a fudge welcome and a note writen in personal terms, that was great!
And also had no problems to extend our days with the same rate from the internet when we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolsaidias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

When we arrived our welcoming was less than friendly. We did not have any milk in our room and when we asked for some the woman was rude and said she put it there herself. Our towels had some sort of black stains on them, the floor looked like it hadn't been swept as it still had the previous guests black hair scattered on it. The beds were terribly uncomfortable as well as the pillows. I was so disappointed with this accommodation. On the plus side, the location was nice, just a short walk from the main town centre and directly across the road from the beach. Having a fully equipped kitchen was definetly a bonus too. Wouldn't stay again however.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is such a lovely place to stay. Right on the beach and a short walk to restaurants, shops and the pier. The staff were very welcoming and we even got a little welcome treat on arrival. We had a one bedroom apartment which was lovely and newly refurbished. There was a kitchen with all the essentials, a nice outdoor table and chairs and nice lounge area. There was free parking and the area was very peaceful and quiet.
We only stayed one night here so will definitely go back for longer next time.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which meant we had the sun shining on us when we sat outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char_and_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom premier suite with views out over the bay. The balcony was huge, so we spent a lot of time out there enjoying the views and relaxing. Having read previous reviews, we were expecting road noise and the service station next door, however the noise largely disappeared once the doors/windows were shut so didn't bother us at all. The service station also wasn't a problem (and we were right next door to it), we just looked in the other direction!
We found it to be a very family friendly place to stay, with baby-friendly furniture (our 1yo had cracked his head open earlier in the week on some sharp furniture at another hotel) and a really good beach was literally across the road. It was also very clean, and the host Shirley was very friendly. However, having read previous reviews, I'm wondering where our welcoming fudge was - lol.
The only issues we found were that parking was tight, and the beds were a little hard for our liking, but that's being picky. All in all, a really good stay, and a great base to explore the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are worth the extra price for the huge balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in the sea spray suites for a night in mid December. I booked over the Internet for a very reasonable price. When we arrived we were extremely pleased with the suite. We were on the ground floor with no view, which was what we expected given the price, but the decor and cleanliness and facilities were superb, far surpassing our expectations.
The complimentary fudge was a really nice touch too.
I would whole heartedly recommend the suites to anybody.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2012. Unfortunately we didn't get one of the waterfront apartments, so our view was of the back of the petrol station next door - not very attractive but a nice outside sitting area nonetheless.

The apartment itself was spotless, although the lino floor might do with replacing. It had obviously been cleaned but still looked and felt sticky. Plenty of room for a couple alone, fully functional kitchen including dishwasher (although you need a Ph.D. to operate the multi-functional oven - just phone reception and ask for help). Sky Movies on the TV was a bonus for the odd rainy day. Nice spacious bathroom.

Air conditioning is in the main living area only but if you leave all the windows closed the cool air circulates eventually. We found opening a few windows kept us perfectly cool in the nighttime despite it being in the mid to high 20s all day.

Although it is on the main drag, we didn't find the street noise at all bad. The main thing I could hear was the sound of the waves on the beach.

Room Tip: Try for a waterfront room if you can, however the ground floor waterfront rooms are actually in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.8 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing