We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Bit dated but a comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bit dated but a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Got caught in Paihia during a big storm but our stay here very good. Our room was very clean and lots of space to spread out and wait out the rain. The TV is on the small side but other than that there wasnt a problem. Bed and shower and both excellent and the chairs were very comfortable. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank changwoncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    79
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
150
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a family room with a sea view and it was great. Though, personally, I would've preferred better internet and better lighting in the bathroom, the overall stay was great. The view and location were, as promised, wonderful. A calm, evening stroll along the wharf of Paihia is only seconds away, with shops and restaurants easily within walking distance ... It really felt like a proper, relaxing getaway. The cosy motel topped it off. Maureen was very helpful and understanding too (despite us checking out later than we were meant to). Overall, great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just had 4 nights in a first floor family room at Swiss Chalet. Although dated, the self contained apartment was clean and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed for a short stay. Phil and Maureen were friendly and helpful . The view from our balcony was wonderful and the location is spot on, being only a short stroll to all the shops, restaurants and the wharf area of beautiful Paihia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANJESSMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice place to stay very clean tidy and quiet.
I feel there "free internet" is a bit of a have 200mb a night .
I felt Maureen was nice and helpful at the start of our conversations then when I rang to cancel one night from 2 nights her tone changed a bit of putting I gave 48hrs which usually ok but because I booked with booking.com it was 7 days notice or get charged the full night also said on the email it was up to the owners if you get charged the extra night. My advise to others would be to check all websites before booking as all have different rules.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes you are right, we do take the time to make sure our property is clean and appealing for our guests. We do offer FREE internet for people initially giving 200mb of data per day, this is normally plenty for the traveller – I told you at the time that if you required more we just issue you with another 200mb as some people need it for business purposes. The reason we give 200mb at a time is that in New Zealand the Motel is held responsible for any guests that DOWNLOAD illegal material and this puts us in a precarious position. With 200mg per internet visit illegal type downloads are not possible.

I feel that you have become confused as it was me that rang you to let you know (within 48hours of your arrival time) about the alteration for your tour bookings that I had organised for you. You then told me that you wanted to cancel one of the tour bookings and also let me know at that time that you wanted to cancel 1 night of your 2 night booking.
You had booked using “Booking.Com” and had agreed to a 7 day cancellation policy clause at that time. You were agreeable to the charge for the second night at that time. You had booked 2 family apartments for 2 nights 6 weeks prior to your stay. These are the only family apartments that our motel have as we are a small friendly family owned motel – you had secured these rooms for yourselves 6 weeks before your stay which made it impossible for anyone else to take advantage of staying with us for that time, we regretfully had no choice but to charge you.

I understand that this has left you feeling disgruntled and we feel sad that you had to write this review using Tripadvisor as a tool to discredit our fantastic reputation.

It shows how dangerous Tripadvisor can be to a Motels reputation when they allow not only one review but your group is also the writer of the previous review (Good Place But). Would not just one review been enough to make your point. Perhaps trying to ruin our reputation has made you feel a lot better. All this when all we did was action our cancellation policy which you agreed to when booking with Booking.com.

As for different rules with different websites, some sites charge the guest immediately and others like Booking.com you are not charged until arriving at the motel. Your group took up Booking.com option. The Motels have nothing to do with these options from the booking engines we just PAY them large commissions which also have to be considered when cancellations occur.

Perhaps booking directly with the motels would be an excellent idea. We all have websites with booking facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Poor internet.
Great location right in front of the bay... Friendly couple that run it. The French window opened right in front of the motel.

Unfortunately after paying that much money, you really expect more than 250MB of internet! Really!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A huge thank you to Maureen & Phil for a wonderful stay at the Swiss Chalet in Paihia and for their advice and help. We had travelled up the Westcoast to Cape Reinga and then down to stay at Paihia and our accommodation at the Swiss Chalet was hands down the very best. The bed was oh so comfortable and as soon as our heads hit the pillows it was lights out. Absolutely wonderful.
The accommodation was super clean and the layout well thought out. We'd love to stay there again sometime in the future. Jill & Graeme

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRADYANDJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for the last weekend of our Easter holiday trip to NZ. We booked prior to arriving in the country and mostly on the reviews it had obtained on Tripadvisor. It didn't disappoint.

We were met by Maureen after arriving fairly late as we drove from Rotorua (about 7 hours), she was lovely and guided us to our room which was a 2 bed apartment at the top of the building. The rooms were well proportioned, well equipped, with a great sitting room area, nice modern bathrooms and two queen sized beds.

After the initial argument with the kids over which bedroom to have we had the one at the end of the building adjoining the neighboring apartment. Whether the neighbours were overly noisy, or everything else was really quiet I don't know but I think a touch more noise insulation is needed between the two rooms. We solved it by ear plugs - never leave home without them.

The motel is located about 3 minutes from the touristy part of Paihia, with a variety if restaurants, attractions available. It is also far enough away as not to be to close. We never took the car out again during our stay. The ocean was visible from our balcony. Paihia is a lovely place.

Because our kids are still fairly young, we are home fairly early and they are sometimes up very early, they couldn't find any kid friendly Tv channels on Sky - a minor whinge but important for those traveling with kids. It might have been that someone had previously been playing with the controls, I don't know but that is being overly picky. Ultimately we don't travel to watch Tv but for those with kids it can be ideal to calm them before bedtime.

+ve - reasonably priced for a nice sized apartment, good clean accommodation great for families, lovely hosts, ideally located, a chunk of Toblerone in The Bay of Islands

-ve - neighbours who should use inside voices

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boffybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing