We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel, I'll Definatley Be Back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Motel, I'll Definatley Be Back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maureen & Phil are fantastic Host's, I've stayed with them many times over the year's, they are always so warm & welcoming. The Motel is in a great location! Only a short walk to all restaurants, wharf & shops. The rooms are very clean, spacious & the beds are really comfortable! I would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Motel, I'll Definatley be back!!
Gretchen Snaddon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you know we are always on our toes looking after our guests. We are so close to the wharf and the shops that people don't need to get in their car during their stay. We would love to have you back again Gretchen anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
cheshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights the hosts are very helpful in advising and booking things for you. The motel is in an excellent position just off main road it's clean and immaculately kept with all mod cons, including laundry facilities and hot tub. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Maureen and Phil

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in twin share accommodation - it was definitely great service, good value and a comfortable and relaxing stay. The best in its price range - better than most other motels we stayed at during our trip. Even for travellers in a higher price bracket, i would recommend it. The hosts were friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking day trips, recommending restaurants, lending us a DVD player etc. There is attention to detail in the service, with everything you need, done nicely. Also a very good location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I chose this motel because all the praise here from other travellers, and I had to say I`m very glad I did. This motel isn`t maybe the most sumptuoys of all, but it has something better. It`s warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, thanks to Phil and Maureen. Definitely recommended. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TammA-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely owner/operators, very friendly and helpful, good location on a side street off the main road.
It's nothing flash, quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again as we thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maureen & Phil are Fantastic Hosts. Our Stay at Swiss Chalet this summer was Fantastic. With its beautiful Gardens and best of locations in Paihia, Swiss Chalet will be our first pick on our next Paihia visit.

The Ferry and shopping/restaurants are so close that it was a No brainer for our family .. and we are so glad we did! It Truly felt like our home away from home for the week..
Thanks Phil and Maureen, We didn't want to leave!!!!! . see you on our next trip up North.. Brett & Family, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice place to stay. The room is always clean and used towels are replaced daily. Tea and coffee facility and a kitchenette is available. The hosts - Phil and Maureen - are very friendly and helpful.

The weather was terrible during our first 3 days with rain on and off but we still tried go to as many attractions we could go to. It is very good that Swiss Chalet has under cover car parking that we did not get wet getting in and out of the car and the motel. Even the reception area is accessible from the undercover parking.

Our room has sea view so even with bad weather, the view was still great.

It is 100 metres away to the Reef Restaurant at Kingsgate Hotel which is a very nice restaurant serving buffet dinner. The place is less than 200 metres away from the Paihia mall.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room 2 which is on the first floor has a view of the sea. When you book, ask the host - Maure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrChAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing