We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I chose this motel because all the praise here from other travellers, and I had to say I`m very glad I did. This motel isn`t maybe the most sumptuoys of all, but it has something better. It`s warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, thanks to Phil and Maureen. Definitely recommended. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TammA-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    82
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
158
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely owner/operators, very friendly and helpful, good location on a side street off the main road.
It's nothing flash, quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again as we thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maureen & Phil are Fantastic Hosts. Our Stay at Swiss Chalet this summer was Fantastic. With its beautiful Gardens and best of locations in Paihia, Swiss Chalet will be our first pick on our next Paihia visit.

The Ferry and shopping/restaurants are so close that it was a No brainer for our family .. and we are so glad we did! It Truly felt like our home away from home for the week..
Thanks Phil and Maureen, We didn't want to leave!!!!! . see you on our next trip up North.. Brett & Family, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice place to stay. The room is always clean and used towels are replaced daily. Tea and coffee facility and a kitchenette is available. The hosts - Phil and Maureen - are very friendly and helpful.

The weather was terrible during our first 3 days with rain on and off but we still tried go to as many attractions we could go to. It is very good that Swiss Chalet has under cover car parking that we did not get wet getting in and out of the car and the motel. Even the reception area is accessible from the undercover parking.

Our room has sea view so even with bad weather, the view was still great.

It is 100 metres away to the Reef Restaurant at Kingsgate Hotel which is a very nice restaurant serving buffet dinner. The place is less than 200 metres away from the Paihia mall.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room 2 which is on the first floor has a view of the sea. When you book, ask the host - Maure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrChAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Maureen & Phil made my 9 day stay an absolute pleasure. Whether they were recommending and booking a day trip, suggesting the best local restaurants, driving me to the airport or to the start of my hike, or showing me how they kept the roses so beuatiful - the perfect hosts. The room also was impeccably clean and fetaured a cooking kitchen for the few nights I dined in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved it here so much, it was our home from home and had everything we needed! Our 4 nights stay ended up as 7. Hosts Phil and Maureen were so friendly, welcoming & helpful and had lots of suggestions for places to visit and booked trips for us during our stay. The room was light and spacious and had plenty of drawer & wardrobe space to unpack. Beds were comfy, towels fluffy & tea & coffee etc replenished daily. If required there is nice fast wireless internet access. The location is spot on, only a few hundred meters from the sea with a lovely beach walk from one end of Paihia to the other. Unlike some of the accommodation in Paihia, Swiss Chalet is situated with level walks to the sea and town, no hills to navigate after a long day sight-seeing!! Try to spend some time in Paihia. It's a lovely little town worth exploring with a variety of shops & eateries within walking distance. It also has a couple of places to buy proper NZ ice-cream!! This really is a fab place to stay, we only hope we find places half as nice as this for the rest of our travels!! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We just love having visitors from New Zealand and from all over the world to Paihia and we endeavour to look after everyone. We are proud of the lovely Bay of Islands so we do try to help people enjoy the area as we do. Being so handy to everything does make a very convenient place to stay. We have just upgraded our WiFi system so that everyone in the motel gets really fast internet service. We would love to have you come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. We could not fault the Swiss Chalet at all. Our accommodation was 1st Class, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Maureen and Phil could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had originally booked to stay 3 nights but extended our visit to 5 nights as we enjoyed staying here so much. We are seasoned travellers and we agree this is one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing