We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely owner/operators, very friendly and helpful, good location on a side street off the main road.
It's nothing flash, quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again as we thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maureen & Phil are Fantastic Hosts. Our Stay at Swiss Chalet this summer was Fantastic. With its beautiful Gardens and best of locations in Paihia, Swiss Chalet will be our first pick on our next Paihia visit.

The Ferry and shopping/restaurants are so close that it was a No brainer for our family .. and we are so glad we did! It Truly felt like our home away from home for the week..
Thanks Phil and Maureen, We didn't want to leave!!!!! . see you on our next trip up North.. Brett & Family, Auckland

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice place to stay. The room is always clean and used towels are replaced daily. Tea and coffee facility and a kitchenette is available. The hosts - Phil and Maureen - are very friendly and helpful.

The weather was terrible during our first 3 days with rain on and off but we still tried go to as many attractions we could go to. It is very good that Swiss Chalet has under cover car parking that we did not get wet getting in and out of the car and the motel. Even the reception area is accessible from the undercover parking.

Our room has sea view so even with bad weather, the view was still great.

It is 100 metres away to the Reef Restaurant at Kingsgate Hotel which is a very nice restaurant serving buffet dinner. The place is less than 200 metres away from the Paihia mall.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room 2 which is on the first floor has a view of the sea. When you book, ask the host - Maure...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrChAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Maureen & Phil made my 9 day stay an absolute pleasure. Whether they were recommending and booking a day trip, suggesting the best local restaurants, driving me to the airport or to the start of my hike, or showing me how they kept the roses so beuatiful - the perfect hosts. The room also was impeccably clean and fetaured a cooking kitchen for the few nights I dined in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved it here so much, it was our home from home and had everything we needed! Our 4 nights stay ended up as 7. Hosts Phil and Maureen were so friendly, welcoming & helpful and had lots of suggestions for places to visit and booked trips for us during our stay. The room was light and spacious and had plenty of drawer & wardrobe space to unpack. Beds were comfy, towels fluffy & tea & coffee etc replenished daily. If required there is nice fast wireless internet access. The location is spot on, only a few hundred meters from the sea with a lovely beach walk from one end of Paihia to the other. Unlike some of the accommodation in Paihia, Swiss Chalet is situated with level walks to the sea and town, no hills to navigate after a long day sight-seeing!! Try to spend some time in Paihia. It's a lovely little town worth exploring with a variety of shops & eateries within walking distance. It also has a couple of places to buy proper NZ ice-cream!! This really is a fab place to stay, we only hope we find places half as nice as this for the rest of our travels!! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We just love having visitors from New Zealand and from all over the world to Paihia and we endeavour to look after everyone. We are proud of the lovely Bay of Islands so we do try to help people enjoy the area as we do. Being so handy to everything does make a very convenient place to stay. We have just upgraded our WiFi system so that everyone in the motel gets really fast internet service. We would love to have you come back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. We could not fault the Swiss Chalet at all. Our accommodation was 1st Class, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Maureen and Phil could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had originally booked to stay 3 nights but extended our visit to 5 nights as we enjoyed staying here so much. We are seasoned travellers and we agree this is one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the bay
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hosts, Maureen and Phil are lovely, welcoming and friendly people! The rooms come with kitchenette, basic toiletries, tea, coffee and fresh milk, very welcome after a longish drive! The rooms are very clean and comfortable, with 1980s decor. Excellent location, only 1 minute walk to the seafront, 5 minute walk to the centre if Paihia and the harbour for getting boat trips and the ferry to Russell and only a lovely 30 min beach/seafront walk to the Treaty grounds at Waitangi. Good value for money, very friendly, what more can a tourist wish for!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $85 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing