We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place”
Review of Austria Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Motel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was our third time in Paihia but our first at Austria Motel and I must say "we missed out on the other two occasions". It suited our needs perfectly, large clean bright units with a small kitchenette, bathroom with shower over a "shub" (very small bath). TV, two recliner chairs, table and chairs, sleeps 3. Plus a balcony with table and chairs. There is also a car park space underneath and out of the sun. Suitcases carried to our room, tea, coffee, milk, iron, hairdryer, microwave, fan and a laundry for our use. All this slap bang in the middle of Paihia but also very quiet. We will stay here again and I urge you to consider to doing so as well.

Room Tip: All have balconys but the front one as two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love staying here, so close to shops and ferry building. The owners are very friendly and always offer to carry our bags to the room. The units themselves are always spotlessly clean and spacious with lots of light. So all in all every stay (we have stayed 3 times) is comfortable and we feel good value for our money and with the motel being one street back from the main road it is quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A great motel.. Only few metres walk to a large ange of restaurants, shops and ferry trips. Rooms very clean, large and light and airy. The owners make you feel very welcome, even carrying our bags to our room.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 1 at the end of blok with a large balcony. Unit 7 has 2 b/rooms, private balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Walked in off the street looking for two rooms. The owner greeted us and showed the two rooms which were good. Very friendly welcome with a lot of info provided. Both rooms clean and fresh, linen towels good but no heating. Electric fans had to be plugged in.
The following morning the owner allowed us to park for the day at no charge

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

A delightful motel, with friendly, helpful hosts. We stayed in the highest room, with great views over the bay, and a large balcony to sit out and enjoy the sights. Good location just behind the main street, comfortable bed, huge bathroom - what more could you need?

Room Tip: Room 8. Owners will help carry your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The hosts were lovely! They even carried our bags up a couple of flights of stairs to the unit, and offered to bring them down in the morning.

The 2 bedroom unit had views from all rooms - kitchen, lounge and 2 bedrooms it was well positioned. I booked this unit on the internet cheap and it meet my expectations. It was clean and accomadated us all (5 adults and an 8 month old).

It was also a easy walk to the main street and wharf which was great. It was definitely value for money and clean - no complaints from me!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed in the penthouse studio which has a lovely covered deck facing out to the sea.
Although you have to walk up a few steps, the view is worth it. The kitchen is minimally equipped and as there is no kitchen sink, dishes must be done in the bathroom. However it is just a short walk to a large selection of waterfront restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statsman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#22 of 43 in Paihia
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Motel

Address: 36 Selwyn Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Paihia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $69 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austria Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run motel. Units are self-contained, serviced daily and are very spacious with Sky TV and queen size beds. All with balconies that get the afternoon sun. We are in central Paihia, one street back from the busy main road, about 90 metres from the restaurants and wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Austria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing