We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!! Great location, great views, great accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allure Lodge Paihia
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed December 16, 2008

What Can I Say ? - this place was just great. From the minute we arrived and were welcomed by Ruth and John, we knew we had made the right choice.

We stayed in the cottage - it was neat as a pin and very, very clean. All amenities were modern with a kitchen, bathroom, lounge and dining as well as the 2 bedrroms. We had our own deck that looked out towards the Bay of Islands and our own BBQ too.

Allure Lodge is within walking distance of the town and thankfully, is a few streets away from all of the backpacker accomodation which could get a little raucous on some nights.

I don't know why the other vistor complained. We did not have trouble with parking (it was a bit tight but there was space to turn around and plenty of spots to park in). Nor was the shower an issue - this is a large, double modern shower which you could fit the whole family in. If the water goes on the floor - just move your bath mat!

Best of all, the owners are friendly and helpful. They are willing to offer suggestions regarding eating out and trips and are not pushy at all. I would recommened (and have already done so) and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2008

property has a 'cottage' and an 'apartment'. we stayed in the cottage, which has 2 bedrooms (1 with queen bed and other has bunk beds), cottage is well appointed although some of the kitchen pots/utensils are getting a little old and need replacing. spacious bathroom however walk in shower leaks.

View from deck area is amazing.

Location is just out of main 'strip' at Paihia and it is only a 1 km walk to where the ferries depart to Russell.

Big disadvantage is the parking/access, it is at the end of a long narrow driveway (just wide enough for the car in places) which services a few other houses also, and there is not a lot of room to turn a car around once you get to the end, especially if the owners cars are parked outside also.

All in all would recommend staying though.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitravellers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthie44, Owner at Allure Lodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2008

So very disappointed to have this 1 negative review, when this is not the feedback that we are receiving from our other guests. I do remember this couple who did report a fault in the shower which was addressed and a new shower head was installed. With regard to the old utensils these have been replaced after I read this review, although a little disappointed that there was no positive comments about other things, ie all new crockery, cutlery, linen, towels plus all the additionals we provide free of charge such as games, DVD's etc. The driveway services 2 other houses and is standard council width. There is 1 car parking space for the Cottage which is directly in front and 2 for the apartment. To turn the car round for the Cottage does require to do a 3 point turn and I have submitted an aerial photo which hopefully shows the set up.Our guests comfort and enjoyment is paramount and I am very sorry that this reviewer was not 100% satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatwijkJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allure1, Owner at Allure Lodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allure Lodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Lodge Paihia

Address: 8 Sullivans Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $83 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allure Lodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 3/4 acres of bush-clad hillside, Allure Lodge commands spectacular views of the waterfront, across the bay to Waitangi and the Kerikeri inlet. Experience the best of both worlds...relax and unwind in the peace and tranquility of this private setting or take a short stroll to the superb beaches, cafes, restaurants and all the adventure activities that Paihia has to offer. Fully self contained, modern and spacious accommodation that is tastefully appointed.... the ultimate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allure Lodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allure Lodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing