We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allure Lodge Paihia
Ranked #20 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The cottage is well appointed including linen, toiletries and kitchen utensils. The deck has lots of room and a fantastic view over Paihia. 10 min walk to town, it's lovely and peaceful. It was really clean and the bed was very comfy. Lots of DVDs etc if needed, the owners even left us a lovely welcome note on arrival. The only downside is the Wifi is unreliable so we weren't able to research things to do and driving times, but there is a very comprehensive compendium with lots of local info.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allitnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 days to explore the area. Fantastic accommodation, lots of room, great shower, kitchen had everything you needed, quiet location as up the hill from the town so nice and relaxing, great bbq and room to sit outside amongst the trees. Best part of the stay were our hosts, gave some great advice and help and on hand if you needed anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyglasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After 10 days of travelling around the North Island to spend our last 3 nights in NZ at Allure Lodge was the best choice I could have made. The cottage was very clean and had all the essential facilities that you required including a fantastic shower (in a spacious bathroom) and the most comfortable beds. Along with this was an awesome view from the balcony, a fantastic selection of DVD's and within walking distance to the shops and beach. Would certainly recommend to couples, families or a small group of friends - it was an awesome end to a great holiday. Thanks Ruth and John for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneR411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My Kiwi friend and I travelled to the Bay of Islands with her friends and family in April for a few days in Paihia. Her family stayed in a time-share up the street and she found the Allure Lodge online and we were very pleased with it. She read great reviews, prompting her to book it for the time needed. The Cottage, a private, 2-bedroom cottage as it's so perfectly called, sat overlooking the town of Paihia and the bay,only a 15-minute walk into town or to the ferry and other wharf activities. Our hosts were very nice, accommodating in every way. The accommodations were modern, clean and spacious with lots of windows to take in all the natural light. It was nicely appointed with kitchen utensils and cookery, even a bottle of milk, coffee and tea. The bathroom was very big and we raved about the shower. We sat out on the deck every night with a lovely assortment of cheeses we bought from a local, award-winning cheese maker and wines from the local vineyards: Ake Ake, Fat Pig and Marsden - all lovely and affordable. We watched movies at night from a great assortment of classics and modern movies; it was a chore to decide which one to view each night there were so many good ones! I would go back to Allure every time I visit Paihia as it was cozy and affordable and we just loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldSeeker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Thanks Ruth and John for a great stay. My girlfriends and I enjoyed great amenities of the cottage (the shower was fantastic!), the views were spectacular and we really enjoyed the wine tasting around Kerikeri. A fun girls weekend away - complimented by a great selection of DVD's personally selected by Ruth.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2011 after a night elsewhere recovering from our flights. What a fantastic introduction to New Zealand. Allure Lodge was amazing, a lovely, clean lodge with ample space. A huge bed, large bathroom and plenty of room for our 1 year old to run around in. Our hosts John & Ruth were very welcoming and gave us plenty of advice on where to go etc. We had our own private decking area with bbq which we made good use of. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Fantastic bay view from cottage deck and lounge.

Clean well appointed accommodation in a wooden lodge with bay views from all main rooms.

Great wet room / shower.

Kitchen had all that one needed for a self catering however plenty of restaurants/ bars/cafes available in the town a ten minute walk away down the hill.

Shaded deck with gas BBQ great for alfresco dining on an evening. The cottage abuts woodland and on a clear night the stars are absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allure Lodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Lodge Paihia

Address: 8 Sullivans Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $108 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allure Lodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 3/4 acres of bush-clad hillside, Allure Lodge commands spectacular views of the waterfront, across the bay to Waitangi and the Kerikeri inlet. Experience the best of both worlds...relax and unwind in the peace and tranquility of this private setting or take a short stroll to the superb beaches, cafes, restaurants and all the adventure activities that Paihia has to offer. Fully self contained, modern and spacious accommodation that is tastefully appointed.... the ultimate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Allure Lodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allure Lodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing