We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views of the Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Air Tours

Salt Air Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.41*
and up
Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Air's helicopter and fixed wing scenic flights and tours offer you a unique and memorable experience of the Bay of Islands and Northland from the air with spectacular coastline views and island scenery. Our guided tour options and island escapes will also leave you with an appreciation of our beaches, local history, culture and coastal environment that is uniquely Northland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best views of the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The ground staff where great and not pushy when I went in to enquire about a flight. Manu our pilot was superb and took us on our coastal discovery scenic flight taking off and landing on Pahia water front. He pointed out all the sights along the way and we even managed to spot some dolphins.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for your comments and sharing this on Tripadvisor, great to hear you enjoyed the flight and spotted dolphins out there. Cheers from the Salt Air team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were going to drive to Cape Reinga, running out of time and then discovered the Salt Air Scenic Tours company. The staff were extremely helpful without being pushy, Daniel sold us the tour and was also our pilot. What a delightful young, knowledgeable man. The flight was in the fixed wing plane, the trip was smooth, views magnificent, landings great and interesting. We were both so comfortable with Daniel as our Pilot. Driving would not have given you the landscapes, colours of the land, sea and sand.
The land tour, was also very interesting and very kind people.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of our Cape Reinga Tour, we appreciate it and great to hear Daniel provided such a memorable day for you.
Cheers from the Salt Air Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best way to see the north of the island. Very informative guide with vast knowledge of the whole northern area

Visited February 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Richjill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your positive comments and rating of our trip. Cheers from the Salt Air Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an amazing time and the flight to Cape Reinga in the fixed wing plain was smooth and the scenery was beautiful both ways. The pilot James was very informative and made the flight interesting. The landing at Cape Reinga was an experience in itself and we thoroughly enjoyed the morning. The dune rides was another highlight of trip. What a great way to see the islands.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ronel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of our tour to Cape Reinga, great feedback. Cheers from the Salt Air Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Best views of the islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Friendly and knowledgable staff. No oversell. Value for money. All this before you even take in the views. I would really recommend a flight to get the overview of the lay of the islands in the bay. No other way to see and feel the beauty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for your comments Sonia, glad you enjoyed it so much and you appreciated our customer service too :-) Always lovely to get such nice feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Tours also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Salt Air Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing