We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the expense”
Review of Salt Air Tours

Salt Air Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$174.29*
and up
Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour
More Info
$236.34*
and up
Bay of Islands Cruise and Scenic Helicopter Tour
More Info
$296.29*
and up
Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Air's helicopter and fixed wing scenic flights and tours offer you a unique and memorable experience of the Bay of Islands and Northland from the air with spectacular coastline views and island scenery. Our guided tour options and island escapes will also leave you with an appreciation of our beaches, local history, culture and coastal environment that is uniquely Northland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We deliberated over this for some time. It's a lot of $ for 4, but we were extremely pleased we took the Salt Air plane up to Cape Renga. Our pilot James was great, he gave us confidence as we trundled down the grass runway at KiriKiri airport, little did we know this was palatial compared to the landing strip at Cape Renga! It took about 45 minutes as we flew up north taking in the sights 1500 feet below us, James giving commentary along the way. We all wore headphones and could talk to one another and hear the occasional comms from Air Traffic Control. My son thought this was great. We landed gently on the tiny grass strip that served as a landing strip to be met by Stuart. He took us in a comfortable mini bus to Cape Renga where we had maybe half and hour to wander round. Then Stuart took us to a beach for afternoon tea - don't imaging a swanky beach side cafe, but a flask, some home made chocolate muffins and a tin cup - all the more special! After tea we went to the Sand dunes for some tobogganing. The dunes themselves are simple amazing, so if running up the sand and hurtle down at warp speed is not your thing, then you will still enjoy the scenery. We opted for the thrill but 4 times and I was exhausted with the climb but what fun!

Stuart lives in this remote part of NZ with his family. His lifestyle is interesting and he's very happy to share his experiences.

Back in the bus and it was time to go meet James and our flight back to KiriKiri via as many islands as he could fit into the 1 hour journey. The time goes really quickly and the views are stunning. A great way to see this part of the country if you are short of time. Pack a few days traveling into a few hours, suited us very well. The kids loved the plane experience and were not at all temped to reach for their electronic gadgets to pass the time. Bonus!!

Thoroughly recommend.

Thank Hell2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks so much for your review and wonderful to hear you and the family all enjoyed the tour to Cape Reinga, a great day out I'm sure you will all remember for a long time. Cheers from the Salt Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had planned this helicopter trip over the Bay Of Islands with Salt Air even before leaving Australia . It was our last day in Paihia and like most people who visit don't want to go home from this beautiful paradise . We wanted to get some aerial photos of the Bay of Islands and experience the stunning views from the air. ( This wont let you down ) ! The flight loop takes you over the islands out to Bretts Rock and on return over Russell as you come into land, just stunning !Our pilot Manu was very experienced and very informative as all the staff from Salt Air. I had never been in a Helicopter before and I felt in safe hands . We highly recommend this trip with Salt Air they have many different tours to take but this was "our adventure". Thank you for the highlight of our trip to NZ Cheers Roger and Emily :)

Thank EmilyRoger1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks Roger & Emily, we appreciate the review for us and really pleased you enjoyed this flight so much. We do love to show off the Bay of Islands, it is quite something to be viewed from the air isn't it. Hope to see you over here again some time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Such a wonderful and informative 5 hours. Well worth the time spent on this tour and the money. Seeing the Bay of Islands and 90 Mile Beach from the air was spectacular. Daniel was our pilot and he gave excellent commentary. On the driving portion of the trip, we thoroughly enjoyed the information shared with us by Stuart. He was such a friendly guy...as most Kiwis are as we learned. I highly recommend this trip. Scenery, information, and professionalism are all top-notch.

1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Great feedback, thanks very much! Always good to know that all parts of our tour and team are providing such a wonderful experience. Cheers, from the Salt Air Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Husband wanted desperately to take photos of our Beautiful Cruise Ship
The Queen Mary 2 whilst we were in Paihia he went to Salt Air. Very professional staff and crew.
And because I elected to stay behind to get pics of him in the Helicopter. He got to sit up front with the pilot. he returned with great images, hole in the rock, Russell, Queen Mary 2 from every angle.
An amazing trip and it the staff and crew really made his holiday.
Thank you Salt Air.

Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks very much for your review, great to hear your husband enjoyed his helicopter flight with us while in the Bay of Islands on your cruise. You will have to come back sometime and fly with us too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful trip.
From Bruce- the hotel pickup
to James the pilot
to Stuart the coach driver
Everybody contributed to an excellent venture.
A fantastic flight over 90 mile Beach - with excellent commentary from James
and a great coach trip to Cape Reinga. Stuart gives a very good insight into the locale.
Highly recommended.

Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Fabulous to hear you had such an excellent trip with us to Cape Reinga. We certainly always try to ensure we can provide a memorable and professional experience. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Tours also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Salt Air Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing