We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Salt Air Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Salt Air Tours
from $182.90
More Info
from $245.50
More Info
from $182.90
More Info
from $316.50
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
302
18
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter flight the east coast fly drive sand dunes cape reinga return flight fixed wing knowledgeable pilot heli tour homemade muffins new zealand rock island professional company running commentary top end morning tea sand boarding
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 320 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a tight schedule, it was great to be able to travel up to Cape Reinga on a half day trip. Both our pilot and guide were very knowledgeable and humorous. Great to be able to see ninety mile beach, the lighthouse and get to go sand tobogganing without the hours of driving! With the morning trip, a definite plus is getting to the lighthouse early before the crowds! The flight back over the Bay of Islands was spectacular.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank Newman_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your comments, apart from the stunning scenery a lot of our passengers do appreciate the ease of flying to Cape Reinga to avoid the long road trip. Thanks for joining us on the tour :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went out on a flight with this company while on holiday in N Z. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the airport, introduced to our pilot James who was excellent and very interesting to listen to as we fley up 90 mile beach and on up to Cape Reinga. The views from the fixed wing plane were stunning. We landed on a grass runway and were met by Stuart who drove us up to the Cape then down to a bay where we had tea and muffins served by Stuart, then on to the giant sand dunes which we climbed then sandboarded down, a terrific experience. Back to the airport and off for the flight back over The Bay of Islands which was not to be missed. The whole experience is quite expensive but well worth it for a holiday treat. We went on the last day of our holiday and it was a fantastic way to finish our month in N Z. y

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank 988pretty65988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your review! Great to hear you had a good trip and you found it worthwhile and a memorable part of your trip to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did the fixed wing flight along 90 mile beach and up to Cape Reinga. Expensive but worth it with an interesting and entertaining commentary from James, our pilot.
When the plane lands a minibus drive to the lighthouse gets you there before all the coaches arrive and then to a beach for morning tea followed by a visit tot he sand dunes for sandboarding. Maximum group size is 7, so very personal. The views on the return flight are also stunning.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank brittraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks very much for sharing your experience of our Cape Reinga Tour, glad you enjoyed it and we appreciate the review. Cheers from the Salt Air team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a helicopter tour of the Bay of Islands on Saturday. I had never been in a helicopter before, Manu the pilot was awesome, made me feel very safe indeed. The views were awesome, we flew out to the Hole in the Rock and back to Paihia. It was a bit windy but I didn't notice that much with so many things to look at . Would highly recommend to everyone.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our scenic flight over the Bay of Islands - stunning out there isn't it. Thanks for the reviww, we appreciate the feedback to share with others. Cheers, The Salt Air Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What can we say!! Professional, efficient, friendly and informative from start to finish. It's a briliant way to see the stunning scenery on the way to Cape Reinga, have tea on a local beach, surf down sand dunes and listen to local history all in half a day.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank white52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for your review, fabulous to hear the entire experience was so good for you. We appreciate your feedback and thanks for flying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews