We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
NZ Northland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great motel, lovely couple running the place. Although the pool is heated it was probably a bit too cold to use at 26 degrees, and outside temp of about 15.
Were informed the spa pool was not hot either so did not venture.
Motels rooms very clean, lots of towels, good space. First nite we had 3 adults and 3 children so had a 2 bdrm unit with kichen/lounge/toilet/shower upstairs, 2 rms and toilet downstairs. Family stayed 1 nite then 2 adults stayed on 1 more nite in same unit for studio price, which was nice. Good free wifi. Location good, flat easy walk to town centre,or short 2 min drive. Ate out at Jimmy Jacks, they have the best spare ribs ever! Go early or book a table cos they seem to always be busy.

Room Tip: I rang and booked our room, which the lady wad helpful in describing what would suit our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinukoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Hinukoa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your wonderful feedback.
Due to the storm we had to conserve water so unfortunately the spa pool was out of action.
We do take pride in the cleanliness of our units as you mentioned and we are pleased you had enough space for your family.
I agree with you Jimmy Jacks does have the best Spare Ribs ever.
Hopefully we can host you again sometime in the future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
65
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My spa suite was wonderful, very comfortable and clean. Jim and Trish were very kind and helpful when I had to stay an extra 3 nights because of bad weather, they really went the extra mile and even offered to drive me to Whangarei, although fortunately I was then able to leave on public transport. The motel is located an easy walk into town and close to the start of the coastal walkway. Would highly recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: The spa suite was excellent value, very comfortable and quiet with its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel31148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Hazel,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your kind comments. It certainly was a trying time for you and other guests to get back home after the storm caused mayhem with our roads.
Hopefully you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Thank you for your recommendation

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Edelweiss motel during the big storm in the far North. The room was clean, with 1 bedroom the unit was plenty of room for 2. Basic kitchen facilities and a good location on the edge of town, staff were very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your comments.
Wow that was a pretty big storm!! Thank goodness things are getting back to normal.

Hopefully you will visit us again and enjoy Paihia in its normal beauty.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Centrally located, easy and pleasant walk into town. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I thought it was charming that they had a little 'swap a book' library where my son was thrilled to find a copy of a book he had recently lost before finishing. We chose this place for location and the pool and it certainly ticks the boxes in that regard. My only real gripe, which is in no way the fault of the property owners / managers was the noise both nights of our stay from the nearby backpackers place which went on until very late at night. We stayed on the weekend though so this is probably not an issue during the week. This would probably be an issue for any motel in this central area, though the Edelweiss rooms are right opposite the backpackers. There was a group of us staying all who made the same comment about the noise. If you are into late night entertainment, this probably will not bother you, but if you need an early night (as we did) it could be an issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank po_tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed our units and facilities and glad that your son found the book in our library.
We do apologise for the noise and we are working on this situation.
Hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a great time. Edelweiss motel was a friendly and lovely place to stay. very clean and very helpful we will stay again next time we are in Paihia. we were close to everything and we had a amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tashadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Tashadaisy,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you again sometime in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was lucky to come across Edelweiss Motel on Wotif. The rooms at Edelweiss Motel were basic but clean and spacious. The rooms have a small kitchenette with basic facilities. The motel has a swimming pool and access to tennis courts. They even offer free wifi to all guests. The staff is very friendly and I would highly recommend Edelweiss Motel to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Wrishy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are delighted you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms and our facilities.
Many thanks for your recommendation to other travellers.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there only for one night but it was a gud relaxing stay! The ladies at the reception were very friendly:) Our standard double bed room had all basic facilities and was very clean and neat! Bathrooms were spacious and absolutely clean. Surely recommendable:)
Vidhi Jain

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrVidhiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Dr Vidhi Jain,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and your wonderful comments.

We are pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Property: Edelweiss Motel
Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing