We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pioneer apartments are tops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had 9 days in this lovely apartment from 10-19 March 2014 and would thoroughly recommend it. Mine hosts Viv and Mark go the extra mile to help and make you feel at home. The apartment was spacious, with TV in lounge and master bedroom and a kitchen a pleasure to cook in. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Great sea views from every room. Very quiet and BBQs on patios. Didn't use fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

First, Paihia is a nice small beach community in The Bay of Islands on the North Island of New Zealand. The city is small enough to walk from end to end, but filled with many restaurants, bars, and shops. If you plan on playing Kauri Cliffs Golf Course, I would definitely choose Paihia over Kerikeri as your home base. Pioneer Apartments are all 2 bedroom units with full kitchens and the necessary cooking and dining essentials. We had one of the Penthouse apartments in the rear, overlooking the swimming pool and spa. Though the view was somewhat blocked by the front building, we still had a nice view of the ocean from our bedroom, dining room, and the spacious balcony. We never used the swimming pool because the weather was perfect, about 70 degrees, so we never needed to jump in and cool off. We did use the gas grill on the pool deck to cook twice and that was a nice addition. Mark and Vivian are great hosts, responding promptly to all of our needs. When I went to play golf at Waitangi Golf Club, Mark arranged for me to join the Men's Club event, and even loaned me his push cart. We stayed four nights at the end of our four week tour of both islands. It was nice to give the car a break and just relax for a few days. We would definitely stay there again.
Bob and Barb

Room Tip: If you want unobstructed views of the ocean stay in the front building. If you're planning on u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This apartment is great. it has a magnificent view of the Bay and beach opposite . We had a 2 bedroom apartment at the front and top. The rooms wee spacious and the kitchen is big. The hosts are very helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a view. You can just sit outside and read, eat and relax while enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

As noted by many, Mark is very helpful. Paihia is a great place to do as little or as much as you like, in our case chilling out and relaxing. The only minor downside with the location of the apartments is that when the local bars close, you may get some noise in the early hours from drunken revellers walking down Marsden Road (but its an annoyance at times, not a major issue). We stayed in apartment 6, which is a waterfront penthouse and highly recommended if you are happy to pay the price - it is the apartment that comes up with headline photo on the website. The main purpose of my review is to give a couple of hopefully useful tips if you are self catering. If you drive up to or through Kerikeri, Churchills butcher stocks high quality meats and smallgoods. Dearer than the Countdown (aka Woolworths or Safeway in Australia) in Paihia which is the local supplies option, but much better quality. The approach road into Kerikeri has quite a few farmgate shops selling fruit, nuts (macadamias) and vegetables but the quality is surprisingly variable. The better option is the Farmers Market (http://www.marketground.co.nz/fmnzboi) which commences at 2 pm Thursdays on the Village Green in Paihia (Sunday mornings in Kerikeri). An excellent range of spanking fresh produce is available. It seems impossible to buy a fresh local fish to cook yourself due to this country's ridiculous restrictive laws governing commercial fishing but you can obviously cook what you catch yourself. Quite good oysters can be available from the ticketing agency at Mack Attack on the wharf - ask.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 (waterfront penthouse) has a great view of the bay. It is the apartment photographed on...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aussietony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a lovely block of apartments, it has quality fit out with everything you could possibly need including the BBQ, and dishwasher. The spa and swimming pool clean and fab to relax in. And the management a dream team. Would stay again without a doubt, we stayed for four nights.

Room Tip: We had a back unit, it was quiet but still had views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came into Paihia with short-list of accommodation only to find that either there were no vacancies or the impressions from the outside were not good. We saw the Pioneer Waterfront Apartments and thought it too ‘upmarket’ but approached the Manager who kindly showed us one of his apartments. It was ‘simply out of this World’ and the best we have stayed in over the last 3 weeks in New Zealand. A beautiful lounge and balcony overlooking the Bay, a fully equipped kitchen, super bathroom, a second bedroom and our own bedroom. Marvellous and one we would love to own. Don’t look any further in Paihia, treat yourself to the outstanding Pioneer Waterfront Apartments. Mark could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

It was great to be able to drive up and stay at such a fantastic place.
So well equipped, we enjoyed the top front apartment with a view of the water which was spectacular. No matter where you looked, it was postcard perfect.
Our hosts mark and viv, were very helpful and lovely, always making sure our questions were answered and that everything was alright.
The room had everything you needed and there were two spas and a pool to enjoy.

Would definitely be back here again!!!!!

The kebab shop down the road has the best real fruit ice cream I've ever had. Out of this world good.
Go on try it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $155 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing