We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent apartment with tremendously helpful and friendly staff in a wonderful location overlooking the Bay. The rooms are impeccable and spacious. The staff always welcome you with a smile and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I count myself as fortunate to find such a superb apartment complex with such superb staff. Mark and Viv just couldn't be more helpful. Although the apartment was wonderful, it was Mark and Viv's helpfulness that made the stay just perfect.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the Bay, is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Mark could not have been more informative and helpful. We learnt what was best to do to maximise our short stay in Paihia, and where the best value meals were in town. Could not have been happier! I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived about 8.30pm to were we had booked the Able Tasman Lodge but they had stuffed up our booking and had given our room away, We were very angry as we had driven from Whitianga and were in no mood to find somewhere else.
But they had done us a big favour as we started to look around and by chance parked outside the Pioneer waterfront apartments.
We decided to have a look and to find out how much as we were staying for 4 nights.
We got a big surprise the rooms were perfect and the price was cheaper than Able Tasman Lodge and 10 out of 10 views.
The hosts were great and made our stay a very pleasant one.
Don't look anywhere else just stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Where to start. Great location, directly across the road from a nice beach, minutes from the centre of town, and convenient to everything around. Apartment we stayed in (6), was very spacious and had a great view across the water. When we first arrived thought the bar/restaurant next door would have been an issue noise wise, but no such dramas occurred. And finally have to mention Mark and Viv for their first class help. Spot on with all suggestions and very knowledgeable of the area. Nothing is to much. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Regan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Would highly recommend the apartments to anyone wanting to stay in the Bay of Islands. Excellent location, very comfortable and modern apartments just a short walk from the centre of Paihia. Andy's upside down writing was a marvel and restaurant recommendations and places to visit were top notch - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesFlaneurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Be in no doubt, if you stay at this lodge you will not be disappointed.
Nothing is too much trouble for the management. information as to where to visit, where to eat - all their recommendations were first class. Accomodation was excellent and well positioned.
A credit to the tourist industry.
Well done Pioneer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a well designed complex of 12 apartments. They all feel private from one another and all have individual decks with outdoor furniture and a sunny aspect. We loved being able to walk everywhere! In fact in our 5 night stay we literally only walked, and didn't take the car out once. This meant walking to Waitangi treaty grounds, to the ferry to go across to Russell, and easily to the beach and little village township daily.
Comfortable and clean apartment, a really relaxing and easy stay that truly felt like a holiday!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Property: Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing