We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pioneer Waterfront Apartments to your Saves list
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct TAdv 10% off
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a well designed complex of 12 apartments. They all feel private from one another and all have individual decks with outdoor furniture and a sunny aspect. We loved being able to walk everywhere! In fact in our 5 night stay we literally only walked, and didn't take the car out once. This meant walking to Waitangi treaty grounds, to the ferry to go across to Russell, and easily to the beach and little village township daily.
Comfortable and clean apartment, a really relaxing and easy stay that truly felt like a holiday!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Pioneer Waterfront Apartments provided us with a great, two day break. The two-bedroom apartment (#4) had a great view of the Paihia waterfront of the Bay of Islands. It was clean, tidy, and decorated in such a way as to make us feel special.

The service was great. Andy even provided a pitcher of milk for our afternoon tea, so we didn't have to run out and get some. The kitchen had all the amenities . . . dishwasher, microwave, oven, hob, and full sized refrigerator.

What was also nice is that right out of our door was the entrance to the pool and hot tub. At first we thought this might result in a bit of hussle-bussle noise . . . but no, that was no problem.

The facility is really convenient for restaurants, and was a five-minute walk to the wharf. That is important if one wants to take the tour boats and doesn't want to try to find parking near the wharf.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: In our opinion, #3 and #4 are the best choice as they are on the middle level with a balcony that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent the last three nights of our six week holiday in N.Z. here. We got a good rate(200n.z. dollars) a night and had a two bedroom apartment on the top floor.The apartment was modern, comfortable and well equipped.We were able to cook meals and do our washing in the apartment in between looking at the beautiful views from the balcony and relaxing with a book. We were able to walk to local restaurants one being next door and enjoy the lively atmosphere of the pub a short distance away.The friendly managers Mark and Viv advised us on activities and trips and as a result my husband went skydiving which he has been wanting to do for some time.This was a wonderful end to our holiday and if we were back in Paihia I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We rented an apartment at the back, where we could park right outside the door. Excellent apartments. Very roomy, lovely bedrooms and bathroom. Comfortable balcony, with BBQ, table, chairs and umbrella. Walking distance to the town and has lovely nearby restaurants. Very helpful and friendly managers. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front probably have the better views. But really, it doesn't matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novatotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We rented a two bedroom apartment which had everything and was immaculate. It was beachfront with uninterrupted views of the bay of islands but easy walking to Paihia's restaurants and shops.

The managers were very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay despite bad weather.

And it has free WiFi.

The downside was the biggest bed was not in the main bedroom. A little confusing but did not stop us from sleeping.

Room Tip: The apartments at the front are best but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This place was excellent. Everything there and great service. Located on the strip, great views and places to eat all close. Lovely helpfull reception. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loza1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Have just had 2 nights here, have stayed before and once again we were very happy with the accommodation. Had rellies out from Scotland who had been doing a lot of travelling and this place was ideal for them to just chill out a bit. Hosts Mark & Viv are very accommodating & helpful. The rooms are fully equiped, modern and tastefully decorated. There are 3 pools, 2 heated (1 for kids) and a larger cold pool. Each room has an outdoor area with a bbq which was great. The location is superb as you can easily access all of Paihias' restaurants, bars and activities. Walk across the road 30 metres to the beach. Price wise its up there a bit but what you get is a superb location and quality. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best views but are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Property: Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing