We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very nice location on main beach road, and next to restaurants/shopping. Hotel is kind of neat. Our 2 bdr condo was on second floor, so you entered on first floor and walked up a flight of stairs to living room/ kitchen. Very nice full kitchen and 2 balconies. Big table for 6 and large brkfst bar as well. Plenty of room. Then up another flight to the bdrm. Nice touch with washer/dryer in upstairs bathroom.
Very helpful and nice front desk. Pool small but very nice. Very nice weekend place for our family

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Jim and the Family

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with The Waterfront Suites. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sharee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    108
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
144
177
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Waterfront Suites Paihia is a modern, upscale apartment hotel on the inland side of the main waterfront road through Paihia, close to the pier and numerous restaurants. We stayed in a one-bedroom ground-floor unit for 4 nights in Nov. 2013. The apartments are on 3 floors in a U-configuration, with a small outdoor pool in the centre of the U, and with the open end of the U facing across the road toward the Bay of Islands. The apartment was serviced daily. The secure car park is underground. We paid $15 for an adequate and essentially unlimited WiFi connection over our 4-day stay.

The 1-br apartment included a large open-plan kitchen, dining area and sitting room facing the pool, separated from the bedroom at the back by a short hallway with bathroom to the side. The kitchen area was fully equipped with 4-burner stovetop, oven, microwave, refrigerator, 1.5 tub sink, dishwasher, dishes and utensils -- quite adequate to cook full meals. There was a small kitchen table and 4 chairs. The contiguous living room had a sofa, armchair, flat-screen TV, small hifi, and coffee table. The bedroom had a king-size bed, large closet, small dresser, and small TV. There was a sliding door from the bedroom onto a narrow patio, with a walkway just beyond.

Given occasional foot traffic outside the rear (bedroom) door, and occasional noise from the pool outside the front (living room) window and entrance, it might be better to ask for a unit on an upper floor, with a balcony. That would probably also provide a better view out to sea, which was almost invisible from our ground-level unit. There was no safe in the apartment, and the reception desk had only a single safe -- no individual safety deposit boxes. If there was air conditioning, we did not find the controls, but an oscillating fan was provided. The fan was effective and sufficient for us in November, but might be inadequate in hotter weather.

The bathroom was reasonably large and modern in appearance, but with limited space for personal items. The large tub had a shower at one end and a swinging plexiglass water shield about half the length of the tub. It seemed almost impossible to avoid having some shower water spill onto the floor. There were no secure handholds anywhere around the tub other than the water pipe up to the shower at one end of the tub. The significant slipping hazard was worsened by the insecure swinging plexiglass panel. There was no clothesline above the tub, but there were separate clothes washer and dryer units that worked well.

The location of the Waterfront Suites was good -- just a 5-min walk to the pier used by the Bay of Islands tour boats and the ferry to Russell / Kororareka. There were numerous restaurants and various small shops nearby. We got groceries at a Countdown supermarket about 1 km to the north, on Puketona Rd.

In summary, the Waterfront Suites was well-located, clean and modern, and in most respects a very pleasant place to stay. We would consider staying there in future if the price were good. However, we would think twice about the apparent lack of A/C if we planned a summer visit, and about the lack of handholds near the bathtub if our agility had by then declined.

Room Tip: Upper-floor rooms may have the best views and less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-D_from_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi J-D

Thank you for posting your review of The Waterfront Suites, and for your comments about secure handholds in the bathroom area. This is one of the areas we wish to address as part of an upgrade we are working through this year. The majority of suites do have air conditioning with the remaining several suites being completed also as part of the upgrade.

We hope to welcome you back to Paihia in the future.

Kind Regards
Sharee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice and clean, modern decorations, spacious and well designed, good location, wonderful views An it has a well equipped kitchen too. But what really amazed me was their attention to details - all the kitchen tools we tidily placed within each drawers! the room we had was good enough, but next time we would definitely pick the unit right up front to enjoy the unobstructed view of the sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Jack B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The housekeeping team will be pleased with your positive comments as they make a great effort to ensure everything is exactly as it should be.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Sharee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
325 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here 10 days in 2 bedroom waterfront apartment. Large terrace overlooking the bay, fully equipped kitchen, good bed and bathroom, tasteful decor. Superior building quality and very good architecture. Exceptional excellent staff on all levels. Very practical underground parking garage.
Only one inconvenience for this great apartment complex : the very busy and noisy road just in front of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Karel V

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay with us. To improve our guests comfort, all suites have had double glazing installed. We also have suites located at the rear of the complex if guests prefer a quieter location. Perhaps if you return to stay with us again we could offer you one of these as alternative.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We are staying at the Waterfront Suites in Paihia for 5 nights and are so pleased we chose this location. It is perfectly positioned near the shops, quality restaurants, directly opposite the Bay and pier. The apartment 303 is a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a lovely outdoor balcony. The living area is spacious and open. Furnishings are modern and comfortable. Daily services are welcome and a great kitchen has allowed us to cook a much needed meal in. The staff are friendly, extremely helpful and professional. We were greeted by a lovely lady on arrival who did her utmost to provide what we required and surpassed our expectations. (Sorry i cant remember your name Sharna??)

On the first night a blown fuse in the main electrical cupboard had us in darkness but this was promptly rectified. The apartment was beautifully clean with everything we needed. The Car park is spacious and easy to access and exit.

We would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to pamper themselves and the Bay of Islands is just magic. The only negative was the very restricted television station selection, but luckily we had plenty of books and things to do.

Everyone we have dealt with in the shops, restaurants, the BNZ bank (really fun, friendly,efficient ladies)and the tours have been so friendly and helpful.


Thank you Ana Laura and Sharna? For looking after us.

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness centre but I can't remove the rating.... Apartments in the front Or ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Sue Mike B

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at The Waterfront Suites Paihia. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly pass on your thanks to Ana, Laura and Shona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Waterfront Suites for two nights recently.This being my first time to the Bay of Islands we were pleased a friend recommended to stay in Paihia rather that any other location in the area. What a stunning location, helped of course by a weekend of beautiful weather. The location of the Waterfront Suites is perfect, you would not fine better in Paihia.On arrival we were given a lovely welcome and quick overview by the lovely young girl on reception. Our room was a one bedroom apartment which fronted onto the swimming pool. The apartment was spacious and well set out. Full cooking and laundry facilities if you required.The one area that did disappoint was the bathroom. I'm guessing this has been set up for disabled customers, which is great, but does it have to look like something you would get when you go to hospital, and where is the space to put your toiletries. On the floor ( really ). That being said I would certainly come back and stay at this property, though I would hope there maybe units with better bathroom options.

Room Tip: Ideally you would get the units facing out onto the bay, these may be the two bedroom or suites, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear alastair4,

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your valuable feedback. We will be more than happy to allocate a suite with a bath for your next stay. We have also taken note of the space to put your toiletries in the disabled bathroom and will have it remedied shortly.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Waterfront Suites!

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent location, beautifully presented rooms, very clean. Staff was friendly and helpfull. I will definitely recommend this place and probably me and my husband will come back here in the future. We had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Magdalena M,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Suites. Thank you for the positive feed back on your experience with the staff and the property. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Paihia.

Warm Regards

The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing