We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly and unhelpful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and unhelpful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having travelled all over NZ and stayed in all kinds of accommodation where we received warmth and hospitality, it was a bit of a shock to arrive after a long road journey at The Waterfront Suites in Paihia. Two women sat at reception, offered no warm greeting and basically just told us to get on with finding our accomodation there ourselves. No-one showed us how anything worked and it was really just a very pricey motel at NZ$305 per night. Not really good old New Zealand hospitality. They belong to the upmarket Heritage Group who should know how badly managed this accomodation is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roro124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Roro124,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to know our service standards did not meet your expectations. We take our guests feedback very seriously and as an opportunity to further train our staff. Please rest assured we have taken every step to correct this issue and ensure we provide our guests with a memorable experience.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    106
    29
    4
    7
See reviews for
143
172
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

From the initial contact made with this venue, customer service was of a high standard. Upon arrival our suite was ready and even better than we had hoped for. Complete with fresh milk in the fridge, room infuser (subtle) and up to date info on things to do and locations/prices etc. Ana, the Manager was clearly experienced at making her guests feel at home and made sure we had all the appropriate local information and even booked me in for a relaxing massage at a local spa retreat. VERY reasonable and just around the corner! The 2 Bdrm suite we had was amazing and had both shower and bath and good size lounge area with fully functional kitchen (even dishwasher - yay!) We will most definitely stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Although booking online has it's merits..email the venue directly ask for Ana (Manager) and spea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Coral M,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location is perfect, the staff outstanding but the property is flawed from the get go. Someone who didn't pass architecture school designed the building and if you are traveling "heavy" meaning more that 2 people and some bags, you'll have to carry them to the 3rd floor yourself. The lifts go to the 3rd floor but don't access all of the rooms there.

That being said I heartily recommend this place, just don't reserve 304! Ana and her staff were incredibly helpful, fully on point with suggestions of what to do, when to do it, where to eat as well as where NOT to eat. That kind of candor is incredibly valuable when thou are popping in for two nights and don't know the lay of the land.

Details: the rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable including a full kitchen, washer and dryer. We could easily have spent a week here and been no worse for the wear.

When coming to Paihia, make sure to consider this property!

Room Tip: If you need lift access be sure to reserve a room that has it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear RockridgeC,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Pahia is as close as you could get to being Hawaii without being there. Waterfront suites looks out onto the beautiful harbor, easy walk to the dock and all services. Excellent kitchen facilities, our site was ground floor, opening onto a pool patio. Outstanding staff support who helped me repair my glasses which had been stepped on and squashed. Unit had a/c which was welcome in the tropical heat. Staff provided local home made candies. Easy underground parking.

Room Tip: All one bedroom suites are on the ground around the pool, with public patio, rather than balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear larry m,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront. Thank you for the positive feed back on your experience with the staff and the property. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards

The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had to check in late, since we were delayed driving in from Auckland. The reception desk closes at 7pm and even though we arrived at 9pm, the onsite resident manager was very pleasant and showed up to our suite and even helped us with our luggage.

Our suite was very spacious with a full kitchen and large living area. We cooked in one night and found all the cooking utensils we needed.

They also had a washer/dryer so we were able to clean all of our clothes for the next phase of our trip around New Zealand.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoytandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear hoytandres,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived after the front desk had closed and the woman staffing the desk was extremely gracious about our tardy arrive. She was very friendly. The suite was spacious and updated. The washer and dryer didn't perform that well, but we weren't expecting to have the use of a washer and dryer to begin with, so…..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a two bed room with two queen sized beds, two bath suite, on the second floor located above the pool, looking directly out at the water front. The doors to the balcony all swung open to allow us to enjoy fresh breezes and the view of the water front. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had washer and dryer, hair dryers, iron and ironing board which we used to get ready for a wedding. Nearby are two good Thai restaurants, and across the street are two good bars located out on piers over the water. Just down the street you can access the ferry to Russell and other tours. Our room was a little pricey, but 5 people slept comfortably, our youngest on the sofa. We did not use the kitchen which was well equipped. The kids used the wifi but I can't recall if it was free or low cost. There is ample free, gated parking under the hotel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed room 208 which was accessed off a private elevator serving just two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear cabojim,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you visit the Bay of Islands again.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Property: The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing