We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a mini home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Pines Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Twin Pines Tourist Park
Ranked #26 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like a mini home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom familiy unit as it wasn't that expensive. There was a decent-sized lounge/dining room and even the bathroom was big.It was all very clean and well-presented. Definitely the best holiday park we stayed at on our tour of the North Island.

Interestingly there was a sign on the wall requesting that people don't cook fish or spicy food, due to the potential for unpleasant smells. Ironically my husband caught mussels on a boat tour we did in the Bay of Islands, which the tour guide recommended would be done "great as a curry". Although we weren't cheeky enough to do curried mussels we did do a lovely pasta with no lingering bad smells thanks to some open windows. Some rules were meant to be broken!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Huge clean kitchen, nice lounge, alot of bathrooms and shower, quiet and a nice atmosphere and hospitality from the owners. All of that for one of the lowest prices in northland, especially paihia...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yehudaeldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011. After roughing it for a few weeks around N.Z. we were looking for some home comforts. After a very long day driving we stumbled across this campsite and we are very pleased that we did. The communal area was spotless with a great kitchen and lounge area. The grounds were well kept and tidy. But most of all the the couple who run this place could not have been more helpful, they were great! They helped us with every problem we presented to them and were very friendly and chatty. Very nice people. I would recommend this place to anyone passing through.

Room Tip: we had a campervan so stayed in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin-Pines-Paihia, Manager at Twin Pines Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hi Philippa. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here, and I agree that it is a luxury not having to make and unmake your bed every night. We make sure that the camp is like a home away from home and that people are relaxed and revived when they leave here. All the best to you. Kindest regards Yvette and Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here after more than a week on the road. Having learned to distrust many of the descriptions of campsites on websites, we were a little skeptical but pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this site. The kitchen/lounge is the best of any site we've seen so far, the managers are very friendly and the facilities are excellent. We'd recommend this site to everyone!

Room Tip: Staying in a basic cabin after 10 days in a very basic camper van was the best decision we made - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin-Pines-Paihia, Manager at Twin Pines Tourist Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We do try to represent the camp as it is on our website and what you see is what you get. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our cabins, so much that you stayed another night. Best of luck with the rest of your travels with your family in your camper van. All the best. Kind regards Murray and Yvette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I came here in 2009 with a couple of my friends, one of the best times I have had.
The toilets and showers are great and always clean.
The kitchen is also great with a good amount of space, and the staff and other visitors are very friendly.
I would highly recommend staying at Twin Pines and I am coming back this New Years.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksim065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin-Pines-Paihia, Manager at Twin Pines Tourist Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Twin Pines. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you will be coming back. See you soon. Cheers Murray and Yvette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our group used something like six cabins at Twin Pines, so we have a comprehensive perspective on the campground! This is not five-star accommodation, and it's not meant to be; it's more of a good ol' Kiwi family holiday spot. The standard cabins sleep up to six comfortably and were basic and cool but reasonably clean. Take an extra sleeping bag if you are staying outside of summer. Communal areas may get busy during peak season. If you time your cooking for just outside of mealtimes, I imagine you'd be fine. The site is beautiful - it's a good base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiOnAPlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Having the broad and thundering Haruru Falls a few hundred yards away was good (and not intrusive), but better was the couple running the campsite. Nothing too much trouble, lots of chat and information; the chap Murray willingly got stuck into a smelly problem with our campervan toilet; made a telephone call for us to sort that out, and even gave us a lift down to Paihia afterwards. This was quiet season so they didn't have too much work to do, but even so it was all beyond the call of duty. Fine place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sedcopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
2.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.0 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#10 of 28 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd
1.4 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#11 of 185 in Northland Region
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Pines Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines Tourist Park

Property: Twin Pines Tourist Park
Address: 340 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twin Pines Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Pines Tourist Park is 3km from Paihia, nestled on 2.5 hectares of sheltered park-like grounds and only a 10 minute walk to the beautiful Haruru Falls. The park consists of 10 basic cabins, 3 tourist flats, 50 tent sites, 25 power sites. Large communal kitchen, TV lounge, private en-suite style bathrooms, coin operated laundry, linen hire, wireless internet hotspot, games room, BBQ & picnic tables, playground, fish cleaning and boat washing area and dump station. Pets welcome by arrangement. Booking agent for all local tours. Tariff: tent site from $12-$18; power site from $12-$20; cabin from $45-$60; tourist flat from $65-$100; seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Twin Pines Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Pines Tourist Park Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing