We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent”

Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Extremely clean and well situated motel. Far away enough from the centre of town to be peaceful but near enough to 'nip' into. Super customer service - needs anticipated and nothing too much trouble for the owner. Nice BBQ area and loungers. Great shower and bathroom. Clothes washing facilities and internet availability. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorthandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Basic kitchen facility in our studio unit (has a electric frying pan but I prefer a stove top, not every room the same). Opposite the motel is a supermarket (if I remember correctly, it is Countdown). Though it takes about 15 miniutes to walk to the town center and wharf, we enjoyed walking. They do play a part in protecting the environment by conserving water and energy, recycling etc., so they don't change your towels everyday provided you need to (but they took the trouble to ask). The laundry is opened from 8am to 8pm, so schedule your washing. The hosts were friendly and helpful. If they could provide a stove top and extend the opening hours of the laundry to 10pm, I would rate it excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2009

The rooms are huge and really well equipped, the owners are extremely helpful and the motel is just across the road from a supermarket. This is a fantastic motel and very quiet at night as it is just out of the main part of town. The beds are very comfortable and the towels are thick and spotlessly clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great start to our New Zealand trip. We thought the location was good – just a few minutes drive along the road from the main centre of Paihia or about a 15 minute walk along the beach. It was also over the road from a supermarket, which was really handy.

Our ground floor room was spacious, spotless and had a handy little kitchenette for basic food prep. The owner was really friendly and helpful and always fun to chat with. Being just over the road from the beach made it handy for borrowing the hotel’s kayaks and taking them for a spin out to the nearest island, where we had a little beach all to ourselves for the afternoon.

We would happily have stayed here longer. It was peaceful, laid back and comfortable. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The comfort level at this motel is very high, an important consideration for the older traveller. We stayed there for the last 4 nights of our 3+ weeks holiday, and were a little travel weary when we arrived. But a good night's sleep (it's a plus that the motel, being a short way out of town is very quiet) helped us feel much better. Every other aspect of the Gateway was excellent too. We had good beds, the most comfortable sofa for the whole trip, and a safe, easy access shower (we had the access suite). In addition to all that there was Brian - a friendly and super-helpful host. To stay elsewhere on a return trip would be unthinkable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Fantastic motel, well equipt, huge bathroom, good size rooms, cooking facilities fantastic. Great having a dvd player. Well recommended. Host were fantastic, Brain was more than helpful, and did everything and anything to make sure you were all sorted during your stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed in many motels during our time in NZ and this was by far the best.

The service was excellent, snf nothing was ever too much trouble for the hosts, the facilities included free kayak hire, guest spa, free dvd hire, guest bbq all of which we were able to use.

The rooms were excellent, we stayed in 2 different rooms as a result of extending our stay and both were excellent.

Location wise the motel is not quite in the heart of Paihia but only a pleasant 10 minute coasal walk away, but is few mins walk from beach, Woolworths, and 15 mins walk from Waitangi Treaty grounds.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
1.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Property: Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing