We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
A1 Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
45
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean comfortable roomscooking facilitiesstayed nightssupermarkethoststvpillows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 60 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The rooms are just as they show on the website, well done and each room is tastefully
decorated.The rooms are self sufficient with a kitchen etc. The size of the rooms is huge with a green backyard. The motel is not close to any city centre etc but conveniently located in-between Paihia and Keri Keri.
Ask for any help at the reception and trust me you wont regret their advice, they know the best restaurants and nice walking trails.
Don't miss on the home made scones they are yumm.

Room Tip: All their rooms are nice and complete value for money.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 night stay ar the Gateway Motel in the Bay of Islands. The room was perfect, a large size, clean and quite. Sherrin and Kevin were wonderful hosts and helped us to book our trip for our holiday, they were very helpful and we could not have arrange it and had such a wonderful time without them. Highly recommend this motel for anyone travelling to the bay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolean1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had an 11 day stay in a 1-BR suite which was roomy, well provisioned and had a homelike ambiance. The bathroom was large and the shower excellent. Spotlessly clean and for golfers, it is closely situated to a good course with only a brief walk to the beach. Sherrin and Kevin were very helpful and accommodating and the Gateway was one of the highlights in our complete tour of the North Island. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Our 1-BR suite was on the second floor and it was a good location.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were offered an upgrade to a 2-BR suite during our week-long stay in March 2012. The view was nearly as nice as the place around the corner (which charges 3x as much), and everything else was excellent. Very close to the beach, backs onto lovely bush, 2-minute walk from large grocery store, very comfortable bed, modern bathroom, well-equipped kitchenette, large rooms with lots of space for everything. Our hosts were very pleasant, generous and accommodating. Close to Waitangi and close but not too close to the pier. Hosts very knowledgeable about local attractions and events.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at this motel , spotless and all the full kitchen provisions appeared brand new .
Terrific owners who drove us to town when raining and to get final bus off. A few minutes walk from town centre but therefore much quieter and near beach and the Waitangi park and fishing spots. Bus tours going out of town all picked us up at our motel . Quiet for sleeping and very large one bedroom with kitchen and tv/dining area. Owners could not have been kinder and will book tours for you if wish.

Room Tip: We had upstairs room with deck out front . There are 3 rooms on that level.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogartVictoria_b_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews