We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allegra House
Ranked #1 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can only reiterate what others have said. Friendly, hospitable and friendly hosts. Wonderful accommodation with fantastic views from the bedroom and your own balcony. Delicious breakfast. If you are going to Paihia you find better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
276
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunks, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Second stop on our trip was at fabulous Allegra House. Our suite was perfect,bedroom, livingroom and kitchen.Bathroom superior!! Clean and very attractive. A view that will knock your socks off...
Breakfast fit for a Queen and King..... Good location at top of a very steep hill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The apartment was great, the views were amazing and the breakfast was really nice!. Thanks for your great hospitality it made our time in the bay of islands very memorable.

Room Tip: The top floor room was fantastic and the views of the bay were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stay here for two night as part of our honeymoon in NZ. Great hosts that looked after all our need and served a great breakfast. True NZ B&B that I would highly recommend. Make sure you stay at less two nights....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our overnight at Allegra House immensely. Standard of room and facilities were superb. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast with spectacular views over Paihia. Our hosts were very hospitable and we would definitely recommend to family and friends visiting Paihia.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Allegra house for four nights and found it a great location to take in all the Bay of Islands has to offer. Brita and Heinz are warm and welcoming and also very helpful and were happy to book our tours for us, even organising a 10% discount. They go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts on the deck exceded our expectations! We'd love to return one day and highly recommend Allegra house.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view, some are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
It was lovely to have you to stay and glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks too for the lovely photos you posted especially the nice one of the ferns on the track. It was interesting to talk with an expert about flowers and plants. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for six nights at Allegra House and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, the warm welcome from Brita and Heinz and the fabulous views overlooking the Bay of Islands.

The position of this lovely house is perfect as there is a short walk through the gardens, leading down to the town.

The room we had was just perfect and had absolutely everything we needed for a luxurious holiday at the end of our tour of NZ.

We found Paihia a perfect spot to stay as everything is to hand and we only used the car once as there was so much to see and do.

If we return to New Zealand this would be on our list of places to return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueT190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Property: Allegra House
Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing