We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the view, stay for the Sopf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allegra House
Ranked #2 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come for the view, stay for the Sopf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The view is amazing. From high up on the hill you can see the whole bay, relax on a terrace, and enjoy the visual splendor of Paihia. Heinz and Brita are fantastic hosts, and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We started each day with bread that Heinz baked fresh himself, and while the croissants and multi-grain breads were great, the Sopf was almost too damn good to be believed.

Our room was quite nice and while it was convenient to breakfast and the main area of the house, it also felt private enough that we were able to relax and enjoy our honeymoon. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It was great to have you with us as part of your honeymoon and glad you particularly enjoyed breakfast. It was nice to welcome the New Year in with you and hope 2014 will be a great year for you and thank you so much for posting a wonderful photo of the fireworks from our balcony. It was so nice to see the amazing coloured reflections in the water as well as spectacular fireworks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
264
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A wonderful B&B in Paihia. The views are amazing, set high on a hill. The walk down to town is nice however it can be a long climb back up to the house after dinner! Brita and Heinz are excellent hosts and share lots of ideas and tips on the local area. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful with fresh breads and fruits.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Having travelled up from Auckland, what a wonderful contrast! A wonderful B&B with a view to die for, and the most welcoming and helpful hosts you could wish for. The Breakfasts set you up for the day. We stayed for 3 nights and cannot fault it in any way. We were sorry to leave our amazing hosts Brita and Heinz.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor with a view over looking the Bay to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have stayed for two nights with Brita and Heinz at Allegra House in Paihia. We had booked the lovely Top Suite for my birthday (very nice room with great bathroom and a kitchen and the most amazing view) and enjoyed the hospitality of the hosts very much. The breakfast was delicious and served on the terrace on both mornings as the weather was perfect. We especially enjoyed the fresh strawberries in November ;). We only wish we could have had a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Top Suite, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful B&B in a perfect location overlooking Paihia and the bay. Spent two wonderful days there and felt very warmly welcome and at home. Brita and Heinz are perfect hosts, informative, friendly and just adorable. The rooms are great and vary spacious. We absolutely recommend the home-made breakfast in the living room or on the balcony: the perfect way to start a day.... good food and great views!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank swoosh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are very happy that you felt at home with us. We like our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable. Breakfast is always a good way to start the day and we enjoy using some great local produce. At the moment the local fruit is all so tasty and colourful so we are pleased you enjoyed it. We hope the rest of you trip in NZ goes well and sure you will have found lots more lovely places to stay and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our stay at Allegra house was absolutely great. Brita and Heinz are really fantastic hosts and their location with a unbeatable bay view is unique. The breakfast was 1st class (fruits, juice, tea, coffee, you name it - all fresh) and Heinz's home-made dark bread is an enrichment compared to "toast only". We can only recommend others to stay at Allegra house if passing by in Paihia!!
Thomas (Germany)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Heinz and Brita must bei the happiest people on the planet considering that they can enjoy this amazing view on the Bay each and every Morning. So kind of them to share this great feeling with their guests in their wonderful house.
We had the apartment in the second floor which has probably the best views to the North and the East towards sunrise. The Apartment has a small kitchen with everything you might need and a big bathroom with fantastic shower. Everything is very modern and superclean butbalso functional and of great quality, which is probably due to Heinz's swiss roots complimented by Brita's taste for lovely decoration.
We had twice a fantastic breakfast on the terrace of our hosts with principly everything you might desire including the view. Our hosts also helped us in anything with tour bookings and superb recommendations.
What else can I say...I travel a lot for business and pleasure...this is thre place I will keep in mind as one on the very top of my list, beyond the scale that is offered by tripadvisor...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we do know we are lucky to live in such a beautiful place. We are lucky to be able to share it with so many lovely people like yourselves and see it every day through their eyes too.
We are glad your room had everything you needed to be able to relax and enjoy your stay. We hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Property: Allegra House
Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing