We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great b & b”
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allegra House
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great b & b”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

heinz and brita were great hosts. always on call if needed but gave enough distance so not to intrude. they have a great set up here. not many rooms so didnt feel overcrowded at all. we had a top suite. sweeping views of the bay. modern. very clean. decent shower. good relaxed feel. the breakfast was adequate. they don't go overboard but its enough to see you until lunchtime for sure. would have liked to see a dvd library in the room perhaps. there were 3 dvd's from memory. this is not a criticism but more a suggestion. wer stayed here for 2 nights. i probably would have chosen 3 nights in hindsight as it was the nicest place in northland with the most things to see and do. would recommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views so no need to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ataahua w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
272
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife found this spot on tripadvisor and I must say I'm very glad she did. I have stayed in Paihia on a few occasions both with my wife and at other times with my children and enjoyed the activities that are availible in and around the town, but this time we did nothing but relax and Allegra house is an excellent place to do just that. Perched high on the hill the veiws out the window/doors are wonderful. Waking to look across the entire bay as the sun rises, followed by breakfast on the deck then take the track that shortens your walk down to the township for a wander around, what more can you ask for. Well the hosts Heinz and Brita that's what's more, although we didn't meet Brita until we were leaving, we did have the opportunity to enjoy conversation with Heinz over our excellent breakfasts and although our meeting with Brita was short we felt a warmth and welcome from her that contributed to our overall stay. A place I would highly recommend and where we will stay when we return to the north in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room above the carport which is separate from the main house as we prefer a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Its great when you find a spot that just meets your needs and we are so glad you found that with us. Paihia is a lovely place to relax and catch up with yourself. Brita was glad not to miss you as we never like to have guests that one of us has not been around for. Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our last place to stay in NZ after a self drive over both N & S Islands spread over 30 days and 11 previous locations. A fabulous way to end our tour with Heinz and Brita being excellent hosts. The large ground floor self catering accommodation served us well and the breakfasts were to die for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
It was lovely to have you and your friends here and share good chats over breakfast. We enjoyed hearing about your travels through NZ as you were relaxing a bit at the end of your travels. I remember now, from your photo that you were here when the Queen Mary cruise ship visited the Bay of Islands. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first trip to NZ and Allegra House was our first place to stay and it was absolutely great. Great hosts, great location, great views, great breakfasts, a perfect place to recover from the long plane journey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was lovely to have you and so glad you enjoyed winding down a bit and feeling at home after your wonderful trip to NZ. We hope you may get back again sometime. Kind regards Brita and Heinz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Allegra House is the perfect location if you want fantastic views and excellent hosts. We stayed in the self catering apartment, where absolutely everything one could need was provided. Heinz and Brita were really helpful, always offering cheerful suggestions and willing to do everything they could to ensure our stay was perfect. The location of the house is set above the bay, so it is private whilst giving the best of all possible views. I can't recommend them enough. It was an excellent place to end our six wonderful weeks in New Zealand in March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyB345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Baring in mind that it was not my first visit to The Bay of Islands and that I am an ex hotelier I cannot fault this B&B. It has everything you want, quiet location, privacy, grand views, luxury comfort with excellent amenities, Wifi and a great breakfast. But most of all are the wonderful hosts Heinz & Britt that are charming and extremely helpful. Heinz is the Encyclopedia of the region and his advice is always spot on. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views and offer great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 802RichardT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Allegra House for our honeymoon - March 2013 and had a great time, its a beautiful B&B with amazing views! Heinz and Brita were so accommodating and gave us some great suggestions of things to do and had great knowledge of the area and sights. The room we stayed in was really nice and private, it was beautifully furnished and we felt right at home!

We would highly recommend Allegra House to all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey_trg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was great to have you here for your honeymoon and hope it will stay a memorable place for you. We always enjoy having New Zealanders to stay and sharing our special piece of NZ as well as hearing about your special places. Do hope to see you again. We loved seeing your wedding photos :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Property: Allegra House
Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing