We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation”
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegra House
Ranked #1 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here to visit The Bay of Islands. Allegra house is set up above the bay and the rooms all look out over it with balconies too. So beautiful we had DIY suppers each night in preference to going to restaurants. Heinz and Brita were lovely hosts and the breakfasts were delicious and healthy too- served looking over the bay of course. They were very helpful with organising trips.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Allegra House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 334 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we entered our room and saw the view from the large window and balcony we gasped with amazement. This is a wonderful place to stay and nothing was too much trouble to Brit and Heinz who clearly want their guests to enjoy their stay but give you your own space.
We were fortunate to see the New Year in with all the guests inivited by our hosts to champagne and nibbles and watch the fireworks over the Bay. A lovely start to 2013. We were on a long tour and so were able to do our laundry without any hassle. We also did the cheapest helicopter tour for 20 minutes which Heinz booked for us. Unforgettable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a wonderful few days we spent here in fabulous accomodation with absolutely stunning views.Heinz and Brit were fantastic hosts,we enjoyed our morning chats with Heinz over breakfast and appreciated the advice he gave us.Loved our sailing trip in Paihia.Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the sailing trip. We also enjoy having good chats over breakfast with guests and the great variety of topics we discuss. Hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed in allegra house for three nights and enjoyed it very much. the place is spotlessly clean and we felt very comfortable and welcome. we stayed on the top floor for the first two nights, where we had a stunning view over the bay. the downstairs room where we stayed for another night, was also perfect. heinz and brita are very friendy hosts, heinz magicked a yummy breakfast every morning and was very helpful with advice on what do to in the area. there is a small path running from the house down to paihia, you can reach the town in a couple of minutes.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was lucky enough to snag 2 nights at Allegra House mid-November. It sits high over the Bay of Islands and a short walk down the hill to the town of Paihia. Heinz and Brita were fabulous hosts and the breakfast served on the deck was delicious. Brita took care of my booking on a boat tour the first morning.
The one-bedroom apartment was very modern and very comfortable. Next time I bring Ted and we stay a few days longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It was great that you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you and it is always great when guests leave with a list of things to do 'next time'. We look forward to seeing you again and meeting Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay. The house is large and spacious, and the top floor room has a lovely balcony. The real clincher is the view out over Paihia and the bay. Waking up each morning to the islands and sea was fantastic. Breakfast was very nice and Heinz & Brita couldn't have done more for us - helped us with places to go, routes around the area and activties.

Only negative or point to note is that Allegra is up a fairly steep and long hill. We were fine with this, but maybe not for young children or less mobile people on foot.

Room Tip: Top floor room is the best view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhysHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a wonderful find. We spent 6 nights in the I bedroom self contained flat. We were very comfortable. The view looking over Paihia was stunning--even from the kitchen sink!
It was very hard to leave but we left feeling relaxed and very happy we spent time in this beautiful part of the world. A big thank you to Brit and Heinz for making available a property like this for travellers.
G and L

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $124 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing