We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allegra House
Ranked #1 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Allegra and this is a very well appointed, private accommodation perched at the top of Paihia overlooking the bay and the town. Though a guest house, we were blissfully unaware of the other guests and enjoyed long sleep-ins and amazing quietness.
Brita and Heinz were fabulous hosts - they were there to greet us, make us feel welcome and offer advice about the best places to visit in town and what to do.
Allegra house has the best view in the town. A short 10 min stroll from the centre of town, the rooms are self-contained with separate living areas. In addition to this, there was a large balcony attached to our lounge room with uninterrupted views of the bay - a beautiful place to enjoy our breakfast.
A delightful find in a busy little tourist town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMandCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the review and photos. We are glad you felt relaxed and hope to see you again. Thank you too for posting Paihia restaurant reviews as it always helps us to have your feedback so that we can pass on recommendations to other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
275
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was recommended Allegra House by a friend who had stayed there - and I was not disappointed. All her superlatives were well founded. Not only is the house in a beautiful position, overlooking the Bay of Islands, the guest rooms and their balconies command a view of the bay (even from the bed!)too. The rooms are large, well-furnished and well-equpped with everything you need for the most comfortable of stays. Breakfast, served outside when the weather is warm enough, is delicious, with plenty of fresh, healthy produce. There is very helpful advice from the delightful hosts, Brita and Heinz, on how to get the most out of a stay in the area - their friendly welcome made us feel very much at home. Don't miss Allegra House!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here way back in December 2010, so this review has been a long time coming! I've been meaning to write this since then, so I do apologise to Heinz for my tardiness - but let it be a testament to just how wonderfully memorable our stay was! The place is beautifully located with excellent views of the bay but not too far from the village and beach, and absolutely spotless. Heinz made us feel very welcome (we didn't get to meet Brita) with a lovely home cooked breakfast and excellent service. My husband had planned a surprise cruise the next day which Heinz helped keep secret - then disclose in a perfect manner when it was time :-) Thank you for making a great holiday even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naaz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sending this and hope you enjoyed having a think back to your holiday a little while ago. I hope we may see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Perched on the side of a hill, Allegra House already overlooks one of the world's most scenic locations with expansive views of the Bay of Islands awaiting travelers.All of the rooms have outdoor balconys designed for relaxing and savoring the view. (See Photos) The room, amenities, extremely comfortable bed and the quiet surroundings all contribute to making a stay here most memorable. There is nothing left out in the way of creature comforts including a welcoming slice of delicious homemade coffee cake.

However, if there are more engaging host than Heinz and Britta,I have yet to encounter them. From great conversation about the area to arranging trips on the Bay, they could not have done more to be kind and helpful. They definitely feel responsible for your happiness during your stay and are expert at understanding your needs. They have been in hospitality world for decades and are a perfect example of warm, thoughtful hosts. Heinz provides outstanding breakfasts as you watch ferries, fishing boats and tour boats depart Paihia Harbor through the picture windows of the breakfast room. Suffice it to stay, we felt like old friends returning for a visit.

It is rare that I would say that an accommodation is undervalued, but that fact is true regarding Allegra House. If your travels take your to New Zealand's beautiful Northland, make a stop for 2-4 days in Paihia and book the Allegra House. You'll be delighted with your decision!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
It was so nice to see you again - return guests are always special to have - thanks for coming and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Its lovely too that you had more time to enjoy other parts of Northland after leaving us. See you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fantastic accomodation with a view to die for!
The room had great facilities, full kitchen, gorgeous large bathroom, very comfortable bedroom, an extra bed was provided for our daughter in the lounge.
Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks for that and we are glad that the accommodation in the self contained apartment suited you all. See you again we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family and I stayed for 1 night in July 2012 Other than the magnicient views overlooking the Paihia township, our first thought was that the accomodation was spotlessly clean and very spacious.

Heinz is a very good example of true Kiwi hospitality (unfortunately we did not have the chance to meet Brita) and made us feel very welcome into his home. The breakfast was very hearty which set us up for the day. He also provided useful tourist tips to the intrepid aussie travellers.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Allegra House to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winship51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yes, you certainly know you have arrived when you drive high on the hill above Paihia and Heinz comes out with his genuinely friendly welcome. With two adults, together with our granddaughter, we found the apartment to be just perfect for the two nights in July 2012. Awoke each morning to a spectacular sunrise and view, and found it hard to leave each day for our sightseeing. Couldn't wait to get back each evening for our soak in the spa pool under a starry sky with treed surroundings. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The apartment is ideal for three people and the location is perfect as it is a pleasant walk down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abri Apartments
Abri Apartments
#1 of 30 in Paihia
236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Property: Allegra House
Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing