We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily Beautiful”
Review of Appledore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We first found Appledore Lodge by accident, six years ago. We liked it so much we booked in for five nights this time. The setting is stunning, beside a river with white water coming down in steps. There were ducks and a kingfisher when we were there. The rooms are all excellent, very comfortable. The location is quiet, outside Paihia itself. The new owners are continuing the earlier high standard of facilities and service: very friendly, cheerful, helpful. Be aware that the breakfasts are 'continental', not cooked; they are delivered to your room in a tray the previous evening, with other items in a fridge. The quality is high, there's more food than you can eat: fruit, muffins, toast, yoghurt, cereal selection, tea/coffee, juice... we really didn't miss the unhealthy options! Paihia is a beautiful location, with a wide range of places to eat, ranging from pizza parlours to "Only Seafood", a high-quality seafood restaurant. Highly recommended; we would stay at Appledore Lodge again if we were in the area. The location is well placed for visiting most of the Northland area, with bus tours to Cape Reinga at the northern tip, along with boat trips and helicopter rides.

Room Tip: The cottage and studio rooms are bigger and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

It was a delight to meet you both and I was so pleased that you stayed for a while as that gave you time to enjoy the sights and to relax as well. Thank you for the compliments about the breakfast and I hope it sustained you throughout the day! Next time you visit, I shall be sure to book you into the cottage or the studio, but I did enjoy chatting to you both and loved the fact that we all watched the rugby in our lounge together. You are very welcome at any time and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our beautiful part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Thanks to their honesty my gold necklace
The cottage we were in had everything! Didn't expect the washing machine and drier...great! The bubbling, gurgling sound from the river was therapeutic and the stars and moon so clear as there was no light pollution....magic. The bird life a bonus.
The hosts were charming and exuded welcoming warmth.
We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomad047, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you both to stay and we will be delighted to welcome you back next year when you want a break from the big city. Thanks to our invaluable helper, you got your jewellery back too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Appledore Lodge for two nights, November 8th and 9th 2012. It was our first B&B In New Zealand. Carl and Stephanie welcomed us with a drink and a nice relaxing chat. We directly feld comfortable! A perfect start of our holidays. They helped us to book a trip to the "hole in the rock" and advised us on the right restaurants. The location of the guest house was really beautiful with a nice balcony and garden. A very peaceful area to enjoy nature and within 10 minutes from Paihia and the wonderful Bay of Islands. Despite of the cold night, we slept very well with the sound of the river on the background. Breakfast was very good and more than enough! When we are able to go back to NZ ever, we certainly go back to Appledore Lodge :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are always happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their time at Appledore. Thank you for your encouraging comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand as much as you did in the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a warm and heartly welcome by Carl and Stephanie in their beautiful home with the wonderful view over the river and the meadows. Really a green and peaceful place in november.
Carl and Stephanie gave kindly useful informations and telephoned for a ship journey in the Bay of Islands. Breakfast in the fridge was excellent and nicely prepared and we could have this meal and others on the deck with the fantastic outlook over the river, the garden.
We found this place so nice and if we will be able to return to NZ we would choose again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Annerose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are delighted that Appledore lived up to your expectations and hope that you enjoyed the beauty in the rest of New Zealand. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited Appledore Lodge in Novenmber 2012.

There was a very warm welcome by Carl. The spot is really amazing. You can't imagine what's behind the house; a small guest house neatly equipped, the beautiful valley with the river view.

Carl provided a lot of helpful information and arranged the half day trip to "hole in the rock". We just had to enjoy our stay.

For your next visit to New Zealand, we definitely will chose Appkedore Lodge again. Thanks Carl.

Raimund and Angelika

Room Tip: A really good place to discover the Paihia area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raimund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your valuable review. We are very happy that the service provided by Appledore met with your approval. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand as much as you did in the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stephanie and Carl welcomed us directly upon arrival with a glas of wine and a very nice chat. We knew we made the right choice even before we saw the room. From that point onwards it just kept getting better. The room had a wonderful view on nearly a kilometer of the river. Facing away from the street it was very quiet and we slept heavenly. Once awake we only had to open the fridge for a lovely breakfast which Stephanie prepared.
Both Stephanie and Carl gave us great suggestions on where to go and what to visit. So plan more then one night here - you'll regret not having booked a few days to a week.

I think it is clear - we absolutely enjoyed our stay and hope to return the hospitality if our hosts make it to our end of the world.

Room Tip: The river front room was beautiful, but any other room is surely just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cmuchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We agree that the area is lovely and that you need more than a day or two to fully appreciate it! We are delighted that the services of Appledore met with your high approval and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our lovely country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were made very welcome by Carl on our arrival at the delightfully situated Appledore Lodge overlooking the river. We made good use of the deck overlooking the garden, even for breakfast, although it was a bit chilly first thing. Carl and Stephanie gave us lots of useful information on activities and helped us sort out a problem with the late arrival of our coach for a day trip to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyWhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledorelodge, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your praise. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Appledore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
4.0 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
535 reviews
3.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 21 in Paihia
228 reviews
3.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $131 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing