We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with 1 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The hotel was great. Clean, modern rooms fully equipped with dishwasher, drier 40" plasma etc... unfortunately no air conditioning. Car park is located underground, very secure but has very tight exit. Notice several paint scrapes on the exit wall!.

Nice smimming pool and spa but entry gates where chained closed the majority of the time we were there with no explanation. Male staff at the resort was inhospitable and very rude. He spoilt the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbumAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

We arrived and were told about a deal the Edgewater had where if you stayed 2 nights you got a one bedroom apartment for $135NZ per night. However, it turned out they only had a 2 bedroom apartment available so they gave us that room for the same deal. We ended up staying four nights and loved it. For us, at that price, it was fantastic value for money. The apartment was very spacious and had a fabulous kitchen - it had all the utensils and cutlery we required. Washing machine/dryer in the apartment were also appreciated. We did find the benchtops and door peephole were at an odd height - luckily we are not tall people so it wasn't a problem, though you would get a sore back if you spent the day on food preparation in the kitchen.
Large lounge area and LCD TV with access to many TV channels.
Bathroom floor was heated and towel rails heated. The room was lovely and warm. We didn't have a beach view, but the apartment overlooked the pool and spa area and had a large outdoor balcony and lovely outdoor furniture.
Approx 8 minute walk to main shops. Paihia and Bay of Islands is a wonderful place to stay - very picturesque and comfortabley warm - even in October. a welcome relief after cold days (including snow) 8 - 12 degrees throughout the rest of NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Extremely nice apartments. Very relaxing and quiet. Great views. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed for 6 days, the location is across the road from the beach and a short stroll to cafes, shops & wharf. Unfortunately we found the one bedroom apartment furnishings were not the standard of a 5 star complex and it had no airconditioning. Very noisy at the front as the windows are not double glazed.The bedroom was very hot in Feb, design of windows doesn't allow for any air. No coathangers in wardrobe, for hanging clothes .If you want your room serviced daily it will cost you $30.00 extra a day.Rooms are only serviced afer 3 days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riversleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Excellent, Fantastic, Amazing.... what more can be said about the Edgewater Palms rooms and staff. From the evening we arrived to the morning we (very sadly and with much reluctance) left, we were greeted by warm welcoming friendly staff.
We arrived quite late at the hotel and sheepishly walked to the reception area to be greeted by a friendly face with our registration forms all ready to go, we signed in and were directed to our room..... and by room I mean luxury apartment. The room was amazing, it had everything we could need from cooking to laundry facilities, DVD player to outdoor seating for alfresco dinners cooked on the bbq by the pool.
The pool and spa were just the ticket after a great day packed with activities in "The Bay". The Managers of Edgewater were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and any trips or activities we wanted to undertake, even offering suggestions for days when we were unsure of what to do next (We would have been happy to stay in the apartment or laze by the pool and spa the hotel was that wonderful).
It was hard to leave but I know we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AussieWildBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My recent stay at the Edgewater Palms Apartments confirms with some certainty the problems with the star rating systems currently being used. This is an apartment which advertises itself on multiple sites as being 5 star, but it is far from it.

Our arrival began by stepping over cardboard boxes to reach a tiny reception desk manned by a less than professional person. However, it was winter in Paihia and we couldn't have cared less about the reception - we just wanted to get into our warm rooms. What a joke! The apartments are certainly spacious. Our 2 bedroom apartment was larger than many residential apartments yet it only had one small 1000W heater on the wall of the living room. The place was freezing! When I approached the manager about obtaining a portable heater to reduce the chill, he flat out said they did not have one and offered no alternative. When I mentioned we may have to find somewhere else to stay, he couldn't have seemed less concerned. As I was travelling with a baby, it was essential the room was warm (babies can't sleep under layers and layers of blankets). I had no choice but to move the portacot to alongside the only heater. Admittedly, the adult beds were comfortable (nice duvets) but I was without sleep worrying about my baby being cold. My fellow travelers were also woken up by people in the central courtyard spa at 3.30am (where was management?). We were going to complain but it seemed clear management did not care - the feedback form in our room had been completed and signed by a previous guest, who had stayed 6 weeks prior!! No-one cares what your feedback is at this hotel once they have your money! If this hotel had been rated the 3.5 stars it deserved, then I would have expected as much. I must say this was a bitterly disappointing (and bitterly cold) stay at the Edgewater Palms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank diggerelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We recently stayed in a double unit at Edgewater Palms and couldn't fault the position (right over the road from the beach and related activities), proximity to restaurants, excursion wharf, tennis courts, beautiful golf course, and the warmth and helpfulness of hosts Karen and Richard. Each apartment has a deck with views to the ocean, there is a good sized swimming pool, and the apartments are fitted out to ensure comfortable living. Would recommend this holiday spot to anyone.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank chrismcNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.2 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms Apartments

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Ramada Suites Paihia)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $144 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater Palms Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Edgewater Palms Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing