We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Palms Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

First time visitor and wow. Lovely view extremely well appointed suite. Would be fantastic for families. Only minor down side is the basement carpark is tricky to get out of unless you only drive a mini. However small price to pay for this awesome accommodation. Will be back soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 311pipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Edgewater.

Yes basement is a bit tight-just need to take a deep swing into the exit and you should be fine.

Hopefully you will be back to see us again soon.

Nicki and the team at Edgewater Palms Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here with 3 other friends, we had a sea view / 2 bedroom apartment with a single bed set up in the lounge for our 5th friend (not a rollaway either). Each bedroom had it's own spacious ensuite and the master bedroom even had a walk in wardrobe.
We normally choose apartment style accomodation when there is a group of us and the Edgewater Palms surpassed any other property that we have stayed at, it was very well equipped for a long stay - pity we couldn't stay longer.
We had two cars between the 5 of us and there was ample parking for both in the basement garage. One other reviewer mentioned the recycling and rubbish set up at this apartment complex, it is a brilliant idea making guests responsible for disposing of their own rubbish. The apartments are a 10 minute walk into the shopping area where there are ample bars and restaurants to please everyones tastes.
The only negative aspect of our stay was our bed, it was as hard as a rock and could have done with some new fluffy pillows, but in saying that we would most certainly stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room - there are 3 levels serviced with lifts and pay the extra for a sea view, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

On arrival the manageress very kindly upgraded us to a 2 bedroom apartment at no extra cost as we were a party of 5 (4 adults + baby). The self-contained apartment was clean, spacious with good facilities.
Staff were friendly and accommodating. Good location across the road from the beach and easy walk into town centre. Nice pool complex and secure parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom apartment for four days over the Easter weekend. It was clean, modern, spacious. The "garden view" on the second floor actually came with a bit of water front view because of the way the building is laid out. I suspect there are few bad views from this place. The recycling options surpassed our apartment in Auckland too which was a pleasant surprise. Quiet, comfortable, would stay again.

From good to great I would change:
1. Heat the pool or fix the hot tub - it was warmer to swim on the beach than in the pool most of the time. With a small child who has a cold sensitivity a warm pool means we would have been able to take advantage of it. The hot tub was undergoing repairs as well so it was unavailable.
2. Sharpen the knives - the kitchen was pretty well equipped for making meals, however the knives need more regular maintenance.
3. Add a mirror to the parking lot exit - it was a tight fit out in a RAV4, we took our time and managed to get out un-scuffed but the wall tells a story of many others who didn't have such luck.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBowern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at there one bedroom apartment looking over the waters. Was beautiful. Apartment was self contained, had great facilities.

Our three night stay was wonderful, and the lady at the reception was very helpful esp when it came to doing bookings for activities.

The swimming pool and spa is great too!!

Highly recommended to everyone visiting Paihia ;)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed in one of their one bedroom apartments overlooking the Bay of Islands.
It was completely self contained with everything we needed plus the best bed we slept in on our trip. As well there was secure parking and pool and spa in the complex.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Madstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at this great location on recommendation. It was perfect for us for two nights - all the mod cons, a stunning view of the beach and bay across the road, and fabulous people-watching from our balcony. Easy walking distant to the centre of town, the ferries and boats plus a great little restaurant next door.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, probably best to ask for an apartment off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiamacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms Apartments

Property: Edgewater Palms Apartments
Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Ramada Suites Paihia)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater Palms Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Edgewater Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Edgewater Palms Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing