We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great base for the Bay of Islands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Suites Paihia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Provence, France & London, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great base for the Bay of Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice modern apartment with loads of space, 2 bathrooms but no bath, easy access secure parking underneath, nice pool and spa based around a central courtyard; great access to the beach across the road. Balcony gave great views over the pool and views to the sea/beach (we were on the 2nd floor). Loads of modern amenities provides for easy living. Slight disappointment was the lack of airflow due for fixed windows at the rear of the unit and no air conditioning. Wifi was supposed to be chargeable but we didn't pay. Unit was also not serviced/cleaned everyday. Great service from friendly staff with helpful tips and advice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to send in a review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to make improvements. We are presently refurbishing the complex apartments so hope to have a fantastic venue once completed.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    45
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
70
83
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Edgewater Palms is very comfortable with excellent services. We were a group of 4 adults and cooked all our meals in the room. The kitchen is well appointed with all the utensils we would have at home. We all had different holiday agendas which included fishing ( a whopper 10lb scnapper) and the boats leave from the wharf less than 5 minutes walk away. Walking the Hururu falls along the estuary, and golf on the wonderful scenic Waitangi course. Off road biking through the forest tracks from Waitangi to Kerikeri was a pleasure if not arduous in places. Having a puncture nearly home meant a 2 km walk, but the sun was out and a delightful guy-Dan opposite Edgewater at Bay Beach Hire fixed this for me quickly and very professionally. I may add this facility also boasts bikes, sailing craft, canoes and kyaks. Edgewater is so central to all the amenities we would have no issues at all in coming back more often. Thanks to our hosts Nicki and Ben-well done.

Room Tip: If you have aged or persons with disabilities the room we had was designed for this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the edgewater apartments for 2 nights on our second stay/trip to bay of islands; clean, modern and spacious apartments. King bed was very comfortable for us. Called a day before arriving and Ben (manager) was very obliging with our requests for two apartments together. Ben then also helped with printing/scanning/emailing important and urgent documents for us, thanks Ben! Excellent location only 5 min walk to town, and beautiful outlook from the apartments!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were a few things that niggled (drier didn't dry probably, would have liked to have the room serviced more than once in our 7 day stay), but not enough to ruin the experience. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. The location was great, especially with the amazing restaurant next door.

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in The Bay of Islands at this facility. Location is tops. Washing machine in room did not work properly (washed but did not dry). Sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Could be improved if they provided a pillowtop pad (used by Argent Motel in Hamilton). Staff at front desk very helpful and friendly. Loved the location. Easy walk to ferry, restaurants, shops. No place to hang or store clothes if you are using the sofa bed. No mirror except in bathroom.

Room Tip: Room located at front, over the reception area, has fabulous view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewaterpalms, Front Office Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi Sharon,

Thanks for your comments. We are just in the process of refurbishing our apartments. Full length mirrors are going in each one. As the one bedrooms are rather small it is quite difficult to put an extra wardrobe in the lounge but I will certainly look at a suitcase rack.

Appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Nicki Kempthorne
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently spent two weeks in New Zealand with our best friends. Stayed at Edgewater Palms for our first four days and it was our introduction to New Zealand and to the North Island. Because we were arriving after hours we called ahead and when we arrived our entry keys and information were all there waiting for us. The managers were lovely and spoke to us the next morning to make sure that everything was acceptable. They were in the middle of renovating their front office but that did not affect their service at all. Our 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely lovely, very modern and very clean. The only thing I would suggest is that you request the first floor (additional cost but worth it) as all the ground floor apartments look into the side wall of the above ground pool. The pool itself is a lovely infinity pool and is the centre piece of the complex with all apartments surrounding it (although a bit cold for us to take a dip when we visited). We dined next door at the 'Alfresco' Cafe/restaurant which had absolutely beautiful meals. All the locals introduced themselves and helped with lots of suggestions for us to do. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is directly across from the beach and a five minute walk into the little village of Paihia which has everything that you need and drives around the district are just a delight. We also did a half day cruise out into the Bay of Islands which was fantastic. Had a stop over at 'Russell' on the way back and we stayed there & had lunch at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel before walking around the town and then took the local water taxi back to Paihia. (the return ticket was given to us before we left the cruise). We really enjoyed these few days and would highly recommend Edgewater Palms as accommodation.

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that you request the first floor (additional cost but worth it) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

edgewater palms paihia!!!! I wrote that i paid for a fully furnished room!! and wasnt told at checkin that ours (washing machine)had been sent for repair! the reason i choose it was because it had washing machine (i got 3 kids) and spa and pool.. they made me use the resorts basin washine machine which i had to go down ten times to check if it was ready!! they had dirty dish cloths and leftover meet in the freezer, they had people in the spa at 1-3am in the morning which kept us awake due to the noise, i was told if it happens again ring reception, so on day 2 it happened again and i rung ten times and no one picked up... that morning the pools and spas were closed down due to it being dirty.. which i find is there fault for not locking it at 10pm as they should have.. no bin liners and we had to empty our own rubbish downstairs into big bins.. only 3 day servicing in rooms not daily... was disapointing... i wrote a comment on there facebook page but they removed the comment and deleted mem show they dnt like wgat i said

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Suites Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Suites Paihia

Property: Ramada Suites Paihia
Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Edgewater Palms)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Suites Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Suites Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing