We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Modern B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Modern B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

Decks of Paihia was one of our favorites in New Zealand in terms of the rooms, physical setup and location. Located on a hill behind the town, Decks may be a bit of a hike for some, but the location was extremely quiet and you felt "above the fray." The rooms were very large, roomy and light with modern decor, and the guest quarters are on a separate floor from the hosts' quarters. Each of the rooms has a wooden deck outside facing out to a small pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooeythebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
152
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Great place. Stylish, modern home a bit away from the heart of the town, but with a great view from the hills. Breakfast was very good each day and the owners were quite nice and good sources of information.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

This was our second visit to "Decks" and I am happy to say that it lived up to all our expectations. We first visited three years earlier and were amazed by the quality of the accommodation and attention to detail not to mention Phil and Wendys friendly and informative personalities. I am more than happy to say that the extremely high standards have been maintained and it was wonderful to see some familure faces and to be welcomed back in such a wonderfully friendly way. It feels llike home away from home. Thanks Guys.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

What a wonderful welcome, Phil opened the door to us and said "you're bang on time Emma, you said youd be here at 6"! I had completely forgotten that I had, but we felt immediately welcomed. The house is amazing, and the guest bedroom and lounge were downstairs, which meant that although you are sharing the house with the Hosts, you are in your own bit. My hubby wasn't very well when we stayed at Decks, but Phil arranged appointments with the local Doctor & Dentist for us, which was a Godsend.
We shared our breakfast with another guest and we enjoyed great conversation and scrummy food to start our days.
I am often nervous of B&B's, as I can be a bit shy, but Phil's hospitality was pitched just right. I thorough recommend this lovely B & B for your stay in Paihia.

  • Liked — The very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — The steep hill which made walking home less attractive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wifelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed here during a rainy time, and still had a great experience. Phil was always helpful and accomodating, and makes great muffins, Wendy is warm and fun. The rooms and decks are beautifully done and immaculate. Recommend this place highly, and hope to go back again in the summer season.

  • Liked — Lovely room, great hosts
  • Disliked — A tough walk from town for older folks
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veldubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

Lovely Breakfasts with a lot of laughter. Best hosts in NZ. Fantastic designed rooms and pool area. Enjoyed every day and stayed 5 days longer than planed. Any more questions ;-)

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kolja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

My fiancée and I agree that the Bay of Islands had to be the highlight of our trip, the area had the most beautiful scenery we have ever seen. It was breathtaking. To top it off the accommodation where we stayed was fantastic, and the hosts were really lovely, friendly people, (who make superb muffins as already mentioned in earlier reviews). They gave great advice as to the most suitable trips for the time of year, and they were right every time- it was an experience of a lifetime. Decks of Paihia was an ideal spot to relax after a day of sightseeing. I definitely recommend Paihia/ Bay of Islands as a place in NZ not to be missed, and Decks of Paihia was our no. 1 choice of accommodation.

Phil and Wendy - Dank u wel!

Siemon & Lizanne

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — The trip was too short
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mijnvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 69 School Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing