We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best til last !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Best til last !”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent five weeks travelling in New Zealand and ended our trip for three nights at the Decks of Pahia on the recommendation of friends who had stayed eighteen months ago. Philip and Wendy Hopkinson offer wonderful hospitality, they make you feel really at home, the rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with great views from the decking overlooking the swimming pool. Outstanding breakfasts, and good advice, really to be recommended !!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Fabulous kind review - thank you so much. We are so pleased we were able to make a difference to your time in New Zealand and do hope that we are able to continue to keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
155
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A modern, peaceful bed and breakfast. Wendy and Phillip are hosts who go out of their way to help and suggest and book tours. Great breakfasts. A real home away from home. Its worth the walk up the hill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It was totally our pleasure having you stay with us - just as much fun for us too! Do hope you are able to come back again next time you have a conference in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Situated atop a hill overlooking the town (only 2-3 mins away but steep), this is a modern house with three guest bedrooms on a decked terrace overlooking the small pool. Seating, table and loungers available on quiet, sun-drenched deck.
Phil and Wendy are friendly hosts and knowledgeable about the whole Northland area (Wendy works in travel trade) .
Large, comfortable bed and bathroom with shower and, unusually, shelf space!
Rooms nicely decorated and clean.
Free Wifi with decent strength.
Continental breakfast available 0730-1000 and cooked options available.
Very pleasant and relaxing. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your very kind review - so glad we were able to help in making your holiday to NZ special. Safe travels back to your beautiful part of the world. Hope you get a nice warm French spring to ease you into summer. They are predicting a long hot summer for you in Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A peaceful place up on the hillside overlooking the town of Paihia. The rooms are a good size and ours was adjacent to the small pool - a good spot to sit in the sun and enjoy a glass of wine.
Our hosts Phil and Wendy made us welcome and organised for us to have good seating for the trip to Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach.
Well placed for trips over the water to Russell
Good breakfasts

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your review - so pleased we were able to contribute to you having a lovely time in Paihia. Do hope you can return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Decks of Paihia is a fabulous peaceful place to stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the attention to every detail is just amazing. The rooms have access to a lovely terrace by the pool... the perfect place to relax. Wendy and Phil are so kind and welcoming and their knowledge of places to visit so helpful (and not just in the Bay of Islands) Breakfast was delicious! Really hope we get the opportunity to return one day. We would definitely recommend this lovely B&B to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank so much for your kind review. We really appreciate it and also very much enjoyed meeting you all and having you stay. So happy your time here in New Zealand was blessed with such lovely weather, and we too hope you can return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Decks of Pahia and I looked forward to the return visit. It's an amazing place to unwind and relax or go into town to join up on adventures.
Phil and Wendy make you feel and home and know where to go to get the best out of the area.

Room Tip: This is located up a big hill but Wendy or Phil are willing to drive you to and from downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It's always wonderful seeing our guests come back again. So glad you were here to enjoy Phil's special birthday celebrations with him as well. Hope we see you again for a 3rd time!. All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed with Phil and Wendy for 2 nights before going on a 2 night cruise. The Tea and Brownie on arrival hit the spot after a long drive. The highlight of breakfast was the freshly made muffins, raspberry the first day and pear the next.

It was a great help to leave our car and excess bags with Phil whilst we went on the boat and even better that we were driven down and picked up by them, really exceeded our expectations and helped make our visit to the Bay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpennie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
So glad we could make a different to your stay in Paihia, and that you enjoyed your time with us. The charger is on it's way! Please come back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 69 School Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing