We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's View Lodge(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$82
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abri Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
226
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsnew zealandfresh muffinsfish cakeshosts philsmall poolexcellent hospitalitymueslilovely roomplaces to visita wonderful stayb and bbreakfast was excellentwalk into townstayed nightstreaty groundswonderful view
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 237 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had 3 nights here with Wendy & Phil who were very helpful and gave us a great introduction into New Zealand as it was our first B&B on our holiday of a lifetime.Their house is set high up on the hill overlooking Paihia, quite a long steep walk up after dinner in town! Our room was spacious, clean and modern with air conditioning and an en-suite with a great shower. They even have a swimming pool to cool off in and patio to sit on in the evening.
Breakfast was good with lovely granola, fruit and cereals to choose from prior to being offered 'something cooked'. Each day there were freshly baked cakes called friands with fruits in them, delicious and I now have the recipe to try them at home with my B&B guests!
Thank you Wendy & Phil for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for the cake recipe!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have had a chance to try out the friand recipe - it is really such a great thing and a wonderful recipe to share around. I am more than happy to share it, and the flavours just keep changing as the seasons move - latest combination peach and cinnamon (peaches in season) and pear and ginger. Both yummy! Apple time coming up so they will be next I think! I am sure you will wow your guests with them as well, and we hope we can get the chance to come and stay with you in your beautiful area of the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are going to Paihia, staying at the Decks of Paihia is a must. The hosts, Wendy and Phil, are the nicest people. Wendy makes these wonderful cakes, friands. A very relaxing atmosphere with a lovely pool, not big but very clean. A first for me was the heated mirror in the bathroom, quite a very pleasant change not having to wipe the mirror when wanting to do one's hair! Everything about Decks of Paihia is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Wow - great review thank you so much. Yes, the heated mirrors are a treat aren't they - we saw this idea overseas and were keen to include with our bathrooms when we built the house. Glad you enjoyed the Friands and hope that you wow your family with those magic little treats now you have the recipe.... my latest flavour is Rhubard and cinnamon - Phil picked some lovely fresh Rhubard from the garden at our beach house yesterday - they are scrumptious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful Location, Superb rooms, Great Breakfast and great hosts who were so helpful and friendly. All this meant our 2 day stay there was the best accommodation of our 31 day trip to New Zealand. Well placed for trips to the Treaty grounds and for boat trips out of Paihia into the Bay of Islands. Good golf course nearby as well.

Room Tip: all rooms good
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernHersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We really appreciate your super review and your kind words. New Zealand has some fabulous properties, so we feel honoured that you reviewed our property so highly. This is a beautiful area, and we love it when our guests have a great time here in the Bay of Islands, as we truly enjoy living in this region. Being able to share it with visitors to the country is very special. We love it more when you come back for a 2nd time! There are lots more great golf courses around the North so maybe next time, you can sample some of those as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed with Phil and Wendy for 3 nights in February. They have created a really welcoming home for visitors with the perfect balance of friendliness and welcoming whilst also giving us privacy and space. Their house is in a great spot up on the hillside about ten minutes walk out of town. We were grateful for the walk after the wonderful dinners each evening. Unfortunately it rained pretty much all the time we were here but Phil gave us great suggestions of things to do so we were kept entertained and we also used the time to chill out in our very comfortable room and terrace. The house is spotless and very modern and breakfasts provided everything we'd want- freshly baked cake, fresh fruit, eggs, home made muesli etc. don't hesitate to stay here and it was a great price too.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wurlycurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We love what we do, and really enjoy sharing our house with our visitors. We very much regret that you weren't able to enjoy some of the beautiful Bay of islands weather that we have been enjoying just this last week or so. It now seems very settled. Hopefully you can return some day to sample some of that and rediscover our stunning area in super weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stopped with Wendy and Phil for 3 nights. We found the rooms and attention to detail to be first class and would love to return when we visit New Zealand in the future.
The room was large and we made us of the deck and pool, and the breakfast was excellant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthornbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Super review - thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and hope that we can put on some more of our spectacular summer weather for you to make the most of the pool !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews