We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite New Zealand retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crisdon Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crisdon Castle
Ranked #15 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite New Zealand retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

This visit was our 6th - and was just as special as the 1st to Crisdon Castle. Donna and Chris are superb hosts. Their rooms are very comfortable and furnished to the highest level. The views, location and easy accessiblity to Paihia combine to cater for all requirements. The golf course at Waitangi can be clearly seen from Crisdon - surely a big draw for all golfers! We will be back to stay and next time with relatives from Canada to show off this amazing place.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashkhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
77
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our stay was so good I joined TripAdvisor to post a review!
We had a long weekend at the Castle and enjoyed every minute. We stayed in the King's Suite (great pictures in the "Beautiful views and food..." review below), and lounged around in style even when the weather got bad on Saturday.
Breakfasts and dinners are sensational - Donna is a fab cook and Chris is always on hand for a laugh!
Just down the road from Paihia (you'll need a car....but this is NZ!), day trips abound, and then there's the ocean! Did we really catch that many fish? :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onehanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the great hospitality of Donna and Chris. They have built a lovely house in which everything from decoration to service makes you feel welcome and at home.
The rooms are luxurious and there was a lot of attention given to the small things that make the difference.
Donna cooks a marvellous breakfast and the fruitsalad is amazing.
Hands down the best b&b we have stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had a delightful 2 night stay at Crisdon Castle in Paihia for our Bay of Islands stopover. It was so lovely in the Bay of Islands that we would have liked to stay longer. Crisdon Castle looks like a fairly large establishment on the web site but it is in fact a very nice home in a suburban area, with purpose built units for accomodation attached. The pool, which I was hoping to swim in, is just a plunge pool in front of the dining area. We stayed in the Kings Suite which was not as spacious as I had imagined but otherwise very comfortable and well appointed. The best thing was the view over Paihia harbour on one side and to Haruru Falls from the side terrace. The view of Paihia was very relaxing and beautiful. No air-conditioning but you can open double doors to the terrace. I had imagined it being much more private but you can be seen from surrounding homes on your balcony and heard and seen by other guests close by. So not quite as romantic as I would have liked but nonetheless comfortable.
The large and hi tech spa bath was fairly comfortable but some of the jets and the built in music did not seem to work. The room was equipped with candles and aroma oil burner which was a nice touch. Mini bar is also available. Bed very comfortable. Needed a dust.
We were welcomed warmly by the chef and next door neighbour, as the hostess was away. Dinner could have been served on the side terrace but being a little breezy she suggested eating on the main terrace where breakfast is served as well. It is quite stunning and comes off the main home and is covered in so a lovely place to dine in all weathers. The views are spectacular. We had ordered a dinner for our first night and it was absolutely delicious. My partner had Seafood chowder, fish and berries and sorbet, while I had scallops, lamb rack and chocolate mousse. The chowder was a meal in itself. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented. We took some leftovers back to our room for later. We brought our own duty free wine but wines are available.
Breakfasts were also sensational with nothing a trouble. Host and chef were most hospitable and fairly unobtrusive. You have to drive down to Paihia to any nightlife, tours, markets, shops etc although there is a corner store and a supermarket at the bottom of the hill.
If you want somewhere away from the hustle and bustle, and don’t mind driving 5 minutes to catch tours, Crisdon Castle is the place to stay in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

The first impressions exceeded the website description and things just kept getting better. Being greeted at the door by Donna and receiving a New Years Eve antipasto platter,being shown our divine Kings retreat room and filling the double spa bath and sitting on top of the world overlooking the most spectacular scenery and water that New Zealands North Island has to offer,is my idea of the perfect gift for my Husband for his 50th birthday
Candles a plenty,beautiful linen,quality furnishings and bathrobes added to the ambience. Romance at its best as the view from one of the balconies welcomes the sunset and shows us the waterfalls.An extremely comfortable King bed welcomes us after we viewed the Fireworks.
Breakfast was absolutely sensational. A continental buffet including home made honey muesli , yoghurt , juices and fruit salad. To follow was the best ommelette we have ever tasted. Other choices included bacon eggs,french toast and eggs benedict.
The ommelette contained salmon,fetta,dices of capsicum and onion and was superbly cooked. The view was spectacular in the morning sun and we then caught up with our washing in the complimentary laundry before making our way down town for a quick drive before reaching a supermarket for supplies and boarding our hole in the rock cruise booked by Donna
We returned to view a complimentary movie whilst drinking complimentary filtered coffee before another wonderful evening at our best accomodation EVER and we have stayed in many MANY places

Leanne and Geoff

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanniemac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

If you have not been advised to stay at Crisdon Castle then you are being advised by "numpties"!!
This is, quite simply The Place To Stay in the Bay of Islands, with stunning views, superb hospitality and excellent food. So, do yourself a favour and get booked in - you WON'T regret a minute of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

This place is awesome, me and my friends went on a short holiday trip and as soon as we entered the property we were simply amazed by the location, views, rooms, services. Everything here was a treat and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surendra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crisdon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crisdon Castle

Property: Crisdon Castle
Address: 18 Goffe Drive, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crisdon Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crisdon Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crisdon Castle Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing