We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Shocking Service”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
1 review
“Absolutely Shocking Service”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We have never received such bad service! When we called to inquire about rates, we explained that we were travelling with two grandma's and two teenagers ages 13 and 15. We explained that we needed beds for four of us and were willing to bring air matresses for the kids. We asked for the best price that they could offer us for a three night stay. The owner quoted us $100 dollars per night and insisted that we take the two bedroom apartment because he would feel bad if we were squashed into a smaller unit - even though we had previously stated that we were fine in a smaller room if it meant a better price. We were thrilled by this great deal!! We called to confirm our reservation in the two bedroom apartment approx. 15 hours before we arrived, and confirmed that we only needed one air mattress.

When we arrived, we were informed that he had given our room to guests who wished to extend their stay and they were willing to pay a higher rate. He then proceeded to chastise us for asking him to lower his rates when we had called...we asked for his best price...he offered us the larger room at the reduced rate by his own free will. He then called into question the size of our children ---they were awfully old children....we told him their age at the time of booking. He said we were welcome to find another hotel if we weren't satisfied with the one bedroom apartment that he downsized us into. At this point we had six tired, hungry passengers who weren't interested in searching out another hotel... so we stayed. We would have been fine with the size of the apartment if we hadn't originally reserved a larger one! The owner didn't even have the decency to offer us two smaller apartments - the grandma's could have shared one.

There were no towels, and when we asked for some, the owner promtly gave us 4. ..no hand towels, no face clothes, no bath mat. Day two, we recieved 6 towels, 3 faceclothes, two hand towels and a bath mat. Day three, we were back to nothing.

The good news ... the location was great, the beds were comfortable, it was relatively clean - the walls needed a good scrubbing, and it was quiet.

We would never book with this hotel again based on the absolutely shocking service that we received!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
There was a change of management as of April 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    132
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
119
126
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nz
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We intended on staying in the Yellow Tail room one night, and ended up staying for 5! Great management, clean rooms, and a perfect location to do all the great things bay of islands has to offer. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting this amazing part of New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canders7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We intended to stay in Paihia for a couple of nights but ended up extending our stay mainly due to the great hospitality and service we received at Dolphin Motel. When we first arrived, Greg (owner) was in reception and made us feel very welcome from the start. We stayed in the Kahawhai room which was upstairs. The room had everything we needed, it was clean and well-appointed. The motel is with-in easy walking distance of the main town and pier, but also very quiet. We also met Heather (Manager) and Karen (Cleaner) during our stay. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful which added to our enjoyable stay. We would definitely recommend the Dolphin Motel to anyone intending to stay in Paihia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maungaturoto new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

upstairs studio unit,nicely furnished and clean.the room got stuffy as there is only one small window at the back of the unit.everything was fine until the adjoining unit used their shower and then the sound of the water going through the pipework was deafening.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwipilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinmotelpaihia, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
This review was written in 2007, since this time we have replaced some appliances that we found were causing issues such as the one above.

Since these replacements were made, the noises heard are not a problem any more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#12 of 43 in Paihia
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing