We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Motel staff is very friendly. Free wifi. Room is clean and big enough to sleep 4 of us with one double and two single beds. Even has a dishwasher in the kitchen. Walking distance to ferry and restaurants. Will come back stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JSmithDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Kia Ora and thanks for some great comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Yes we offer plenty of free internet.Our location is certainly very central to everything.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    132
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
119
125
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The owner at dolphin Motel Paul, was fantastic, extremely nice and helpful pointing out great things to do in paihia and places to eat. he really went above and beyond in helping us and the rooms were lovely and clean. the bed was so comfortable and the motel was located only a short walk from the main shops and wharf. We were extremely happy with Dolphin Motel!

Room Tip: We slept in the King Suite and the bed was wonderful and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alysha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Alysha J thanks so much for a great review.Hope you return sometime to visit us again in the Bay of Islands.Very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwerte, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Paul was in 4 weeks the helpfulest man we met. All his hints were perfect and helpful. We never forget this stay. The Motel was good and the stay was perfect. Thank you Paul for everythink!!!!!
Lots of People should meet you and choose your Motel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annegret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Guten Tag/Kia Ora
Many thanks for your extremely kind review.I was a pleasure to have you stay here.
Its great to have so many interesting people from all around the world staying here.
Glad I was off some help to make you holiday great.
Auf wiedersehen/Kia waimarie Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good facilities, clean, very helpful staff and good location. My wife and I and our two older teenagers thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Paihia at the Dolphin Motel. A all the rooms are a little different. Could be worth contacting the motel and making sure you get what you need.

Room Tip: Very good. Beds are a little soft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Kia Ora
Many thanks for your kind review.Sorry about the beds being "a little soft".Everyone has different ideas with beds and generally we have little remarks about the beds,and in fact to the contrary enjoyment of a good nights sleep.
However apart from that I glad you enjoyed your stay.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in the motel only one night, arrived quite late in the night so were really not worried about the place, just needed somewhere to crash for the night - however what a pleasant surprise! We had a 2 bedroom unit with a spa, such a good value for money! The place is really nice and clean, and walking distance to Paihia centre, restaurants and the beach. Beds are sooo comfortable we all slept like little babies. The place also had a littlle private deck at the back with a bbq which we didn't have time to use but it's there. Would definitely stay again next time when we're in Bay of Islands. Lovely place, great service, handy location and again, really good value for money.

Room Tip: For a group of four and more, definitely 2 bedroom spa unit - #11 is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thanks Eva for your kind review and comments.Yes the family unit is great.Very spacious and can sleep up to 7.Plus full kitchen and Spa Bath,and Air Con.
All the best for the rest of your holidays and hope to see you again here one day.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

For a small (not too many units) and convenient place to stay I'm glad I picked Dolphin. The host, Paul, was the very first person, be it Manager or Owner of many motels we have stayed in, to actually greet us with "help yourselves to a beer or two" out of his fridge.
I was most impressed to find our accommodation had a good sized well stocked kitchen with a one drawer dish washer, microwave, cook top, fridge and all the utensils.
Very clean and tidy, a five minute walk down the road to the heart of Paihia, plenty of parking off the street. A value for money.

Room Tip: A very quiet place all round, off the main road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks Jan for your kind review.It was a pleasure having you here.Hope you visit us again someday.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very impressed with our hassle free check in, free chocolates and ice cold drinks from the bar fridge in the office - so nice after a long, hot drive. Our host was extremely kind - not even charging me when I lost our room key at the Paihia Christmas parade. The room was clean, modern and well appointed - so great to find facecloths when so many motels have stopped supplying these, and I always forget to pack one.
I will definitely stay again. Great service, great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
It was a pleasure Lucie and family to have you stay.
No problem with the key as these things happen and with a hectic Santa Parade there was on that day.
All the best and hope to see you and friends here in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing