We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Absolute Bliss Apartments(Paihia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
174
153
33
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
153
33
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshort walkroom was cleanleave the carspa bathbedroom unitawesome stayclose to shopshot waterwithin walking distancethe kitchenstay there againgreat roomgreat place to staynew zealandgood sizecooking facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 384 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very impressed with our hassle free check in, free chocolates and ice cold drinks from the bar fridge in the office - so nice after a long, hot drive. Our host was extremely kind - not even charging me when I lost our room key at the Paihia Christmas parade. The room was clean, modern and well appointed - so great to find facecloths when so many motels have stopped supplying these, and I always forget to pack one.
I will definitely stay again. Great service, great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

It was a pleasure Lucie and family to have you stay.
No problem with the key as these things happen and with a hectic Santa Parade there was on that day.
All the best and hope to see you and friends here in the future.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Paul, thanks for the nice welcome and a first to be offered a cold refreshment on arrival. A good area, just a short walk to the town centre and an even closer walk to the RSA where our work dinner and drinks was held. The room was clean, the kitchen even had a dish washer. A good shower with plenty of hot water. We will certainly stay here again when visiting Paihia.
Ron & Jan

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Kia Ora and many thanks for the review.Hope we see you again in the future.
Yes our situation is very close to everything and requires only a short walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We love to stay at Dolphin Motel. The rooms are clean and very accommodating. Paul and his staff are very welcoming and helpful. It is 5 minutes walk to the town centre and wharfe and so reasonably priced ! We would not stay anywhere else :)

Room Tip: The spa bath room is great !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Great to get another excellent review.I try my best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyble stay.
Indeed we are in a good location which only requires a 5 minute walk to anywhere.
Also we have some great eating places near by including Legends over at the RSA which is across road.
Kia Ora and thanks.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Perfectly situated, a short walk away from the main shops and beach, made everything very accessible. We were a large family of 9 so hired two apartments which gave enough space and more than enough resources to accommodate us. The big family room is the size of an average 2 bedroomed house, really clean and well maintained. Would recommend to others looking for great accommodation at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Kia Ora from the Bay of Islands,and Paul at the Dolphin Motel.
Many thanks for your kind review,and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Located 5 min walk from town centre, cafes, small grocery store and wharf for cruises, the location is great. Unit was clean, plenty of space and the owner/ manager was very helpful. Nice touch to offer a beer on arrival. Really great value for money although kitchen was a bit dated but certainly functional and well equipped. Nice big spa in bathroom which was briliant! My only niggle was that the rooms had no air con or fan and the windows had no screens, so for the 2 nights we stayed, I had to leave the windows open as it was really warm (late Nov) which then allowed bugs and more distractingly, noise from the neighbors playing basketball and yahooing at 9:30 pm into the room (noisy neighbours cannot be helped but installing fans or screens would make this an outstanding choice and lessen noise). Overall, great value and would recommend to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietotandtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Kia Ora
Thanks for your review.I was rather puzzled by some of your comments.Firstly the unit you were in is our Spa King Unit.It has full airconditioning and newly installed kitchen.Perhaps you missed the controls for the air conditioning which were in unit.Therefore you would not have needed to leave windows open.At the time we had several families here and at times kids can be a bit noisy.
I also remember upgrading you to this unit and at the same price.
All of our other units have ceiling fans in each room of the apartment.
However apart from what you say I am glad you enjoyed your stay.Yes indeed we are located in the Heart of Paihia and very close to everything.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews