We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin Motel over Christmas period. Paul the Manager was so friendly and welcoming. Excellent service Clean. Value for money and was close to all amenities and a short walk to town.
I would fully recommend this Motel for people travelling to Paihia for a holiday. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with Spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for yours and others kind review,much appreciated.
Sincerely Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    103
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
90
105
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean, tidy, no air conditioning but with fans in each of the rooms this motel is fine for a quick visit to Pahia.

It had great kitchen facilities if you needed them (with a dishwasher) and great location to the centre of Pahia.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Many thanks Phillipa for your kind review.It was a pleasure to meet you both.
We try to offer good value and our location is great to walk to at an easy pace for all attractions and amenities.Besides that we give great discounts on all tours.So book with us Folks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

4 of us stayed in Paihia for New year ( 2012/2013). We found Paul absolutely amazing, a bottle of wine and packet of biscuits to see the new year in and then in the morning he dropped off some fresh cruissants for our breakfast. Such a friendly helpful guy, like staying with a friend.
Motel was perfect location, clean and comfortable beds, nothing flash but excellent value. Just little short on bowls etc for us ladies who wished to rattle up a meal but had all the basic gear and a host of resturants at ones door, who would be cooking anyway!I recommend this Hotel and would stay there again.
Gail Nicholls of Speedwell Tours.

Room Tip: If one wishes to sleep, dont go new years Eve unless you have a sleeping pill....but whats new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedwellTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Kia Ora
Many thanks Gail for the kind review.It was great to meet you all.
I try to add little things to improve our guests stay.
Good old fashioned Kiwi hospitality where guests leave as friends.
We also arrange all the activities and tours from the Bay of Islands at discount prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thanks Paul for a great stay in Paihia. We really appreciated your hospitality - especially the pack of ginger nut biscuits waiting for us on arrival after a long drive from Auckland! The double bedroom facilities provided us with most of our needs for a family of four, however it would have been great to have a bit more space in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in and rooms whisper quite considering the location and the summer holiday traffic. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnatemperly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield9, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay.Our kitchenette is designed for adequate cooking,and has own fridge,dishwasher,stove tops,and microwave,but with great many restaurants only 100 metres away with a huge choice I think our facilties are adequate.
An RSA is only 50 metres away as well which offers great value and a great variety as well
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When booking accommodation on-line you never really know what you are going to get when you get there, and we were very impressed with our room when we walked through the door! We didn't arrive til almost 9:30pm, but Paul was up and waiting with a very warm welcome. The room was very modern and stylish with all the facilities needed on hand. Our luggage arrived a day later than our flight did and was sent to the motel in Paihai the following morning. We were on a 6 hour cruise when it arrived and when we returned back Paul had very kindly put in our room and also did our breakfast dishes and made our bed, which we did not expect! The location of the motel was within walking distance of our planned tour from the wharf and close to eateries and a small supermarket. Loved the spa bath with back massaging jets!! The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep after a long and tiring day. We really appreciated that free wi-fi came with the room. Worth every cent and thank you Paul!

Room Tip: Definitely select the room with a spa unit as you will not regret how heavenly the spa is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty_and_Kim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks to all our past guests and latest reviewer for some incredible reviews.
Its making your experience staying with us at the Dolphin Motel and visiting the Bay of Islands a pleasurable time.
We also give discounts 10% on all single tours and a special deal of $195 for twin tours (Cape Reinga and Hole in the Rock/Dolphin Discoveries which saves you 20%.
Being local kiwis we can help with further arrangements through out New Zealand
Kia Ora from Dolphin Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Being a person who always makes sure every penny is well worth it, with Dolphin Motel, I would say, "yes it is all worth it." Arrived late at night and Paul was there to warmly welcome us. The unit we stayed in was clean & had all what you need to keep your stay comfortable - more than what you expect with how much you paid for. Better still, without hesitation, he let us park our car the following day - that was after we checked out - while we went for our overnight cruise. Thank you, thank you. If we ever get back to Northland, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilydalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I really appreciate another great review.I try my very best to show a good Kiwi hospitality.
Its all combined to give our guests a comfortable stay and make sure they enjoyed themselves at our motel and have happy memories of the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tairua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a lovely unit very clean and beautifuly presented a home away from home and the spa bath was heavenly. We highly recommend the Dolphin Motel to anyone staying in Paihia it is in a great location within an easy walk to the shops and beach & wharf
You are greeted with genuine warmth on arrival Paul left no stone unturned to make our sure our stay was a memorable one, thank you Paul we really enjoyed your hospitality and knowledge of the area thankyou for pointing us in the right direction for meals and arranging tours exceptional service
What a fabulous Manager you are We will be back
Helen & Trevor

Room Tip: The room with the Spa Bath was Heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review.What more can I say!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing