We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation in Paihia”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights a couple of weekends ago in a 2 bedroom family unit. The unit was well equipped and clean and tidy. The Manager Paul was very friendly and willing to assist with any questions and requests. It's in a great location, as it's off the main road but only a 3 minute walk to the shops, bars etc. Other family members were in the Family apartment, which was huge and even better equipped. I'd thoroughly recommend the Dolphin Motel in Paihia. My only advice for Paul is to buy a repeater or signal booster for his wi-fi! Hardly a gripe though!

Room Tip: The family apartment is a great option for a family wanting a bit more space. It's got a spa bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANMAC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review.I put a lot of effort into ensuring our guests receive information and requests are dealt with promptly.Its all part of hospitality.
My motto is "arrive as guests leave as friends"
Your comments regarding wifi is quite relevant but its up to the major providers of the Telco companies to give us a better coverage.As it can be intermittent due to weather conditions and traffic congestion in the area.As least we provide it free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 374 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed with Paul at Dolphin Motel, and took a boat trip to discover real dophins too! Affordable and clean, handy to the shops and cafes, got to be a recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamadaOrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Many thanks for your review.Yes we take pride in being welcoming,affordable and to the standards of cleanliness that people expect.Its great that we are able to book people on the great Bay of Island attractions being only 100 metres to the Wharf in the heart of Paihia, and the Dune Rider trip to Cape Reinga.Our kiwi knowledge can also provide further assistance and help with tourism planning throughout New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

had 2 nights here in March 2012. Cheap, very clean, modern, excellent facilities, good location, friendly staff, what's not to like?

Room Tip: all good, 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have you.
Its great to have many different nationalities here and give them the Kiwi hospitality and the standard of accommodation that people demand at a reasonable price,plus discounted tours.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and two kids stayed at Dolphin motel for 4 nights during our trip around the far north. We had booked over the internet so did not reallly know what to expect. We were very pleasantly suprised once we arrived. We stayed in one of the one bedroom units and were very happy with it.
Where the real point of difference come to other motels is the assistance and helpfulness of the on-site manager (Paul). He took it in his stride to organise on-forward accomodation, help us with trip options around the Bay of Isalnds and it could not have been a more enjoyable stay. I would recommend this motel to anyone who requires accomodation in Paihia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thanks very much for your awesome review.
Since taking over management since late April 2011 I pride myself in giving our visitors the best service,and giving as much information about the wonderful area and further afield to give them the "Kiwi Experience"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My parents, two sisters and myself (all adults) stay in the family unit which we booked for one night but eventually we stayed for two nights. The unit meets our needs and it is clean. The host/manager (in unit 4) is extremely helpful, friendly and kind. Coming from a different country and with different culture, we felt welcomed (that's why we stay another night :-)
The motel is just a stroll to the main centre with access to amenities and activities. Very convenient.
Will definately be back when visiting Paihia

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alure, General Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Terima kasih for your review.
Having a great knowledge from travelling in many countries in the World its great to relate to many cultures,and give the Kiwi Experience.
Come back and see us sometime.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Jacuzzi studio room for what was meant to be only one night. We had wonderful service and when we walked into our room it was immaculate (I am a clean freak and inspected the shower, toilet, kitchen sink, bathroom rubbish bin, cutlery etc and found everything spotless) We had a wonderfully HUGE t.v a heat pump our jacuzzi and coffee plunger etc. The next day our swimming with the dolphins adventure was post poned until the afternoon. Disheartened as it was raining heavily and we knew we had to be out of our room by 10am and knowing we would have to trudge around town miserably until 1.30pm I went to talk to the manager to see what we could do. He said to just relax in our room, there is no one else booked for the night so just take our time and leave our car here go have a coffee etc. We ended up staying another night because of this wonderful and friendly service. We were made very welcome and had everything that we wanted. Will definitely be back this summer thanks to your wonderful manager (in unit 4)

Room Tip: The manager will help you find the absolute best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amiria_Aperahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alure, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Many thanks for your great review.It was indeed a pleasure to have you two.
We pride our selves with cleanliness of the rooms.
Also to supply that little extra public relations to make your stay enjoyable.
Pity about the weather,thats the breaks!However the sun is here now.
Paul Rowland
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

2 bedroom unit was great with everything that we needed-clean and comfortable ---Paul was a wealth of knowledge and advised us on what to do and see while we were there. Paul went out of his way to assist travellors. Good accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alure, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Very appreciated your review.Yes I pride my self in having a great "Kiwi" knowledge on New Zealand,and also have travelled many parts of the world,and being able to tune into a lot our tourists needs.
Tourism is the backbone of the New Zealand economy and we ensure with price,quality and information we can make an enjoyable stay.
Come back and see us again sometime!!
Paul Rowland
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.7 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $87 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing