We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value and friendly host”
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
victoria, australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, good value and friendly host”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Traveling around the north island we did not pre-book the accomadation and just pulled up on the day. Got a large standard unit with separate bedroom area with large bed and clean linen. Very clean accomadation and surroundings abot 2 mins walk from town centre and wharf area.
owner was very friendly. Cheap interent access done on honesty system.
Would recommend this to anyone who wants good motel/cabin style rooms

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
91
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This was one of the most expensive motels we stayed in on our three week holiday in New Zealand, and the most disappointing. We were looking forward to the view that we had paid extra for, only to find we had to look over the top of airconditioning units on the buildings in front of us in order to catch a glimse of the ocean. As well as that the bedroom had a stale and very unpleasant smell in it. The average year round price is not $106 as shown on this site - we paid $199, and for that price, we expected more.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakeslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
wow. Am i surprised by this comment. we dont charge extra for views which you would see if you checked the rates online but i do have the habit of reducing the room rate for rooms without a view. You came to a resort town that only has a 3 month season and you came during peak season which is when we have to make our money to survive the other 9 months of the year. If you compared our rates online to other motels in the area for that period you would have found we were very reasonably priced. Lastly all the excellent comments on the site are from people who stayed in the same rooms who enjoyed the balcony and views and found the rooms very clean. The average rate was correct as for 9 months of the year during the off season you would have paid the lower rate. 1 bad rating out 19 suggest maybe the problem was with a guest who you would rather complain than be happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal;isbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

maid very welcome the room was top class breckfest was brought to the room i would go back again.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank railwaymanSal_isbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
My staff and myself are really happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We paid $190NZD for a two bedroomed apartment (both rooms had double beds). The galley kitchen had a full sized cooker and big fridge, though not too many utensils. There were good furnishings, the place was clean and the beds were firm. The bathroom was slightly dated though I understand that Scotty, the owner, is updating the bathrooms in the future. There is off-street car parking, a laundry, and as we were on the upper level, a view of the sea. You are a 2 minute walk from the shops.

Paihia is a great base to do trips to the Ninety Mile Beach, the Hole in the Rock, and see dolphins.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We recently stayed a long weekend in Paihia and just wanted to comment on the motel we stayed at, as the prices charged these days do not seem to gaurantee you a quality or clean room. We have experienced too many places that look great on the outside and leave alot to be desired once you get inside. The room we were given at the Bounty Inn was impeccably clean. The bedding was like new and the beds really comfy. My pet hate is grotty showers but these were really clean and nice fluffy towels! The kids had their beds in an area with the tv where we could shut off that room. The hosts were really great on advising us on small family trips we could do and even organised some of the bookings for us. We were an easy walk to town for meals and really close to a supermarket to get food to prepare in our room with a small kitchen. It was nice and quiet at night as this one's not on the main road and safe for the kids. We would definitely return to this Motel because it's 'about time' someone knew how to clean and present motel room properly!!!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dbee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed at the Bounty Inn whilst a Contiki Tour around NZ. Shared rooms were very small (three beds in a 8sqm room), the bathroom very small where the toiet hardly fit into the corner.
We did not have room service or clean towels for the 2nts we stayed there.
Nevertheless the owners are very friendly and provided us with a lovly bbq diner.

Some of our group stayed in a superior room which seemed to be of a real good standard and really spacious.

Overall - if you travel on your own/partner it´s a recommendable place. If you travel in the group and you get a shared room - think about an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Hi,
Sorry you found the room a bit small but Contiki do get a special low rate to stay here and they organised the rate on the understanding that the rooms were not serviced and you were in the budget quad room. It was only a ten dollar a night difference between the room you were in and the better rooms the others had. visit us again in the future and i will ensure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maungaturoto new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

great location central to everything and a reasonable tariff for a studio unit.downside was how cramped the bathroom was,I am just under six foot tall and my knees touched the wall when I sat on the toilet,hot water came out of the hand basin but no matter what position you put the control you couldnt get hot water from the shower!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold shower
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwipilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
This was previous to my ownership of the motel and you would find these rooms have had their bathrooms extended and the units modernised including the hot water supply being converted to a gas system ensuring unlimited hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing