We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to stay”
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great base to stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We paid $190NZD for a two bedroomed apartment (both rooms had double beds). The galley kitchen had a full sized cooker and big fridge, though not too many utensils. There were good furnishings, the place was clean and the beds were firm. The bathroom was slightly dated though I understand that Scotty, the owner, is updating the bathrooms in the future. There is off-street car parking, a laundry, and as we were on the upper level, a view of the sea. You are a 2 minute walk from the shops.

Paihia is a great base to do trips to the Ninety Mile Beach, the Hole in the Rock, and see dolphins.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    77
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
95
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We recently stayed a long weekend in Paihia and just wanted to comment on the motel we stayed at, as the prices charged these days do not seem to gaurantee you a quality or clean room. We have experienced too many places that look great on the outside and leave alot to be desired once you get inside. The room we were given at the Bounty Inn was impeccably clean. The bedding was like new and the beds really comfy. My pet hate is grotty showers but these were really clean and nice fluffy towels! The kids had their beds in an area with the tv where we could shut off that room. The hosts were really great on advising us on small family trips we could do and even organised some of the bookings for us. We were an easy walk to town for meals and really close to a supermarket to get food to prepare in our room with a small kitchen. It was nice and quiet at night as this one's not on the main road and safe for the kids. We would definitely return to this Motel because it's 'about time' someone knew how to clean and present motel room properly!!!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dbee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed at the Bounty Inn whilst a Contiki Tour around NZ. Shared rooms were very small (three beds in a 8sqm room), the bathroom very small where the toiet hardly fit into the corner.
We did not have room service or clean towels for the 2nts we stayed there.
Nevertheless the owners are very friendly and provided us with a lovly bbq diner.

Some of our group stayed in a superior room which seemed to be of a real good standard and really spacious.

Overall - if you travel on your own/partner it´s a recommendable place. If you travel in the group and you get a shared room - think about an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Hi,
Sorry you found the room a bit small but Contiki do get a special low rate to stay here and they organised the rate on the understanding that the rooms were not serviced and you were in the budget quad room. It was only a ten dollar a night difference between the room you were in and the better rooms the others had. visit us again in the future and i will ensure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maungaturoto new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

great location central to everything and a reasonable tariff for a studio unit.downside was how cramped the bathroom was,I am just under six foot tall and my knees touched the wall when I sat on the toilet,hot water came out of the hand basin but no matter what position you put the control you couldnt get hot water from the shower!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold shower
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwipilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
This was previous to my ownership of the motel and you would find these rooms have had their bathrooms extended and the units modernised including the hot water supply being converted to a gas system ensuring unlimited hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We would recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in Paihia. It is well-run with clean rooms and the garden is well looked after too. It is a close walk to the beach road (you can see the bay from the property) and to shops, bars and restaurants - yet is also peaceful. Jane and Steve are great hosts and very customer focused. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable rooms, hosts are very customer focused
  • Disliked — can't fault it
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BruceAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2007

we arrived to be greeted by steve who was very helpful and gave us some very good ideas on what to do in the area
we later met jane who again was very helpful, the two bed apartment was excellent and in a great spot only a moment from the beach, as for the bay of islands it is beautyful and would recommend it
overall excellent hosts & area if you in that neck of the woods go there
g,wade

  • Liked — the hosts and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank binsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving,Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2007

I spent four days at this inn and found it a delightful place. My room did not have a view of the ocean, but some do. I was only a block away from the waterfront, tour excursion marina, shops and restaurants. The owners and their two cats will make you feel at home and help you to plan and book excursions. The place was clean and cozy and felt like the safest place in the world. I plan to go back!

  • Liked — The close proximity to downtown.
  • Disliked — No ocean view from my room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksdavis1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing