We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom room and were very happy with the comfort and quaintness of the rooms. The Bounty is close to everything, and we had to just step out of our room to have a magnificent view of the bay. Thanks Keith and his lovey wife for an excellent and quality for money stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, Leah. We will continue trying to give good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    77
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
95
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Amazing stay, close to all amenities, welcoming, comfortable and clean.

My family and I came up for easter weekend and it was a great sleep, big bed and very clean facilities. We liked the fact we had free WiFi which kept the Lil ones happy and the continental breakfast didn't go a miss too.

Worth every penny,
#happy cutomer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummum33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. Easter was our first "big weekend" since we took over 5 weeks ago and we had our moments but it is good to know that our efforts were appreciated. We are thrilled with the wifi comments, it seems as though the new system is working fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muffin1978
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I hate writing bad reviews, but in this case I feel I'm forced to. I will try and be as honest and paint true picture as somethings were bought on by my own miss understanding.

Whilst looking to stay in town for another day we (myself, my lady and our baby boy) wandered around Paihia inquiring about rooms. After being shown a few rooms by the lady from the front desk ( and being follwed by another person who we weren't sure who he was, but he did make some rather strange comments) we agreed that it looked lovely and wanted to stay. When booking in I had miss heard the price (there may have been a slight language barrier as well) and queried it. No voices were raised and it was my fault which my partner pointed out quite quickly and I apoligioesed (it was a difference of 10 dollars so I wasn't overly bothered any way). When we arrived in the morning I was greeted by a elderly gentleman who was out and out rude to me and said that I had upset his wife and proceed to shout at us. As any one with a small child knows the amount of packing etc that you need to do to move from any one place to another is a pain, to then have to run around looking for another place to stay was stressful. If an establishment has a problem with anyone who queries price then they are going to run into problems.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muffin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Your comments are not true. You were refused accommodation because of racial abuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Probus Group that I was part of recently spent 2 great nights at the Bounty Motel with Keith and Hesti (who had only recently taken over) as our hosts . They were excellent in dealing with an older group of people and went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable and roomy. The beds were especially comfortable. Although they don't have a restaurant as such, the continental breakfasts they provided as part of our package and the atmosphere in the dining room each morning were great. Their staff were also very friendly and helpful. The proximity to the heart of town was was very convenient. I wouldn't hesitate recommending a stay here at any time. Thank you Keith, Hesti and Staff.

Room Tip: Not sure which way we were facing, but the room I shared was quiet and we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi lyn,
Thank you for the great comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip as much as Hesti and I enjoyed having at the Bounty for a couple of days. You will be pleased to know that new signage will erected this week and the new wifi system will go in on Monday. The wifi will cover all apartments, all devices and will be completely free of charge and unlimited access. Just as we discussed. Thank you again and give our love to your mum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The motel is under new management, and they were at sixes and sevens, but they were very obliging and did their best to please. The rooms were good, and they had refitted a conference room for breakfasts. We were a group of 35 people and everyone went away happy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi TykeHB, You really understate it when you say we were at sixes and sevens - more like tens and elevens. We had finished converting an old restaurant/conference room/storage room into a new breakfast room about an hour before you arrived. Your group were absolutely fantastic and once we rearranged the rooms, got the luggage organised and got them a good nights sleep we had lots of fun for two days. We are keeping in touch with quite a few of the group through Facebook and we understand you had a great trip. We would be very happy to host your group again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights really good beds apartments very close to town very friendly service evin got a free feed of fish 8-) i will be back .our room had stove hair dryer plus all the usual condoments .and at a really fair price

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you Peter. We are always glad to see you and Wattie. Hope you made it home OK, sorry Peach, school today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Have been visiting the beautiful Bay of Island for an annual fishing competition since 2005.
We have always enjoyed the fishing and have stayed at various places over the years.
This year we stayed with Keith and his team at Paihia Central.
By far the most welcoming and hospitable stay we have had, we were made to feel very comfortable and nothing was a problem for these guy's.
Plenty of room for boat parking (we had three) and daily cleaning no problem.
Very happy all round, great value for money would highly recommend.
Team Smith and Davies NZ Ltd.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Daron, it was a pleasure having you and the boys. As a retired Game fisherman with quite a few species to my name I really enjoyed "chewing the fat" with the boys. The snapper and smoked Kahawai didn't come amiss either. The fact that Hesti and I had just taken over the place and that we hadn't even started rejuvenation makes your comments really wonderful. We certainly hope you will come again next year, and you never know I might even take up your offer, (belatedly), to come out and give the really big one a go. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing