We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Paihia”
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Paihia”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked 1 night at the bounty Inn but after seeing Paihia and the room decided to stay an extra night. Scott was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and ours (No 28) had a great sea view. It had a good range of amenities in the room so you could be self sufficient with breakfast and meals. It also had a lovely balcony area for sitting outside. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and the only slight niggle was the soundproofing between the units as you could hear noises from adjacent rooms.
The position of the motel from the town was excellent as everything is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
91
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed on our way to Cape Reinga on a busy Auckland anniversary weekend. I understand that age can have a negative impact but it costs nothing to weed the gardens. We requested a ground floor room but alas the room above was noisy and every activity in the room could be heard through the floor. TV was small, water pressure bad and while most needful things were present, most things were very tired. Couch was stained with ingrained dirt, obviously an old one that when you sat on it you had the feeling of hitting the floor.
The place was ok but we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robanddianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brmPaihia, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
I am sorry you found your unit tired and I agree some units are in need of refurbishment and every off season we have done as many as finances during a recession can allow but over the last 3 years all but one of our studios have been fully renovated and 2 one bedroom units have been fully renovated including installing air cons and a number of other units have had refreshment work done to tidy them up.
If you have been traveling in New Zealand the weeks prior to Anniversary weekend you would know how much of a rainy season we have had followed by days of hot weather has made the weeds flourish.
What I do not understand is as you were here Aniversary weekend every time you came in or out off the main entrance you must have passed and seen the trailer stacked as high as it could go with tree branches and cuttings waiting to go to the refuse station and noticed all the front gardens had been cut back?.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I spent four nights at the Bounty Inn, and they were welcoming long before i even flew into the country, emailing me personally about the booking, and that was a nice touch to begin with. They gave me a great room, some lovely views, a very comfy bed and lounge area with quality appointed furnishings and touches. Housekeeping very attentive and efficient, and some great advice and help from the manager who went out of his way to assist. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed two nights here, and it was one of the best places we stayed in NZ. Our 1st floor, one bedroom unit had a living room/kitchen, bathroom and small bedroom. While the living room faced the road, it is one street back from the main road (the bay view is over the roof of the motel across the road), but the bedroom at the back got next to no road noise. The kitchen was well equipped with electric stove top, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge etc. We would stay here again. We paid $NZ99 per night - I think it was a special rate for multi-night bookings (1 bedroom @ studio rate), but we paid more elsewhere for worse accommodation.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Owner at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Thanks Rodney E.
It is great to know you enjoyed your stay at the Bounty Inn and found our unit and pre christmas special such good value. We put on a lot of specials during April thru to Xmas so hopefully we might be able to entice you back one day.
scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have just come back from 3 nights at this motel. I booked a studio which was on the ground floor with parking right outside. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well equipped and had a large double bed (which was very comfortable) and a single bed, TV, kitchenette with microwave and en suite shower room all for $99 a night. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. In my view very good value. The town was quite quiet as the season hadn't really started, but I think the motel could be quite noisy when the backpackers arrive. Wifi was limited and not always easy to connect. It is close to town - about 5 minutes walk from the ferries and dolphin trips. A 4hr trip on the dolphin boat with explorenz was the highlight of my trip and well worth $95.

Room Tip: The studio apartments are on the ground floor and sleep 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Hi Tillybox,
I really appreciate your taking the time to put in a such a great review and as the owner it makes me proud of my staff who is responsible for keeping them so clean and for servicing them.
I wish you and your family a very Merry Xmas and fantastic 2012.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We arrived on a quiet, rainy Sunday at the beginning of the season. Nearly every hotel, lodge and Motel had vaccancy boards out, so we decided to check a few out. Bounty was easily the best for the money. Spacious room. Modern decor. Friendly, helpful staff. Location was key in the heavy rain - set on the first street that runs paralel to the foreshore, it is a quick 2 mins walk from the shops, and restaurants. Would definitely head here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Hi Paul,
Thanks for reviewing the Bounty Inn and for the great feed back. we print out all the reviews for the staff to read and it really helps them and the management take pride in their work to hear such positive comments.
Merry Xmas.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a two-bedroom apartment, but one of the bedrooms was in fact the entrance hall. The shower was excellent. The kitchen was fully equipped except for a lack of oven tray/grill pan (soon rectified by a visit to the office). There was quite a lot of noise from neighboroughing units, especially upstairs. The unit was rather expensive considering it was not particularly roomy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaScotty, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Hi Paul,
I am sorry your stay at the Bounty Inn was not all you hoped for but will take the positives of full marks for cleanliness. Without knowing the details it is hard on me to comment on the value you paid but I am surprised as in November as in all our low season months our rooms are discounted as low as we can go and usually are considered good value as you can judge by the majority of reviews. The back door exit is primarily for usage as a fire escape and to enable easy access from the rear carpark with your luggage and is not a entrance hall as the front range slider is the main entry and exit of your unit but will put fire exit signs on the rear doors to prevent confusion in the future
Merry Christmas to you and your family
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Property: Bounty Motel
Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing