We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, TERRIBLE service!!”
Review of Alongside

Alongside
Ranked #21 of 62 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alongside is an exciting social space situated over the water in the stunning bay of islands. There is no place quite like it in Northland and we are proud to be different! While there is an overall laid back, casual feel to the huge decked area, its style and touch of class makes it the perfect place to get together with friends and family for a relaxed bite to eat and a drink to cool down in the beautiful winterless North. Take in the breath taking views, relax on some of our comfy loungers and soak in the great community feel that Paihia has on offer. We offer all day casual dining . Our menu is designed for sharing - small plates and boards boasting local seafood and fresh produce. Choose a drink to match from our extensive drinks list boasting a wide range of exciting wines to speciality rums and mouth-watering cocktails.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is the second time we have dined at Alongside, the first time was AWFUL service! Waited 15mins to be served the food was overpriced for what it was. Finally a waitress came along and told us another waitress would come to take our order she looked around and then groaned and said ughhh it might just have to be me, as there was no one else around. It was not busy and yet tables had not been cleared or wiped down. The couple next to us waited longer to be served, they were trying to get thewaitresses attention but were ignored. I went to go and pay and was asked what did i want? this was coming from the waitress who served us. On Friday we decided to give them another shot, it is beautiful location! Again, rude waitress (same waitress as last time)
I would hate for the tourists who visit this place to think this is what New Zealanders are like.
WILL NOT BE RETURNING HERE!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi there - we thank you for raising these issues with is and we have been in touch to try and pinpoint these problems more. We always aim to address all feedback and are apologetic that you did not experience satisfactory customer service. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 798 of 923 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great position but terrible food. Service was OK on the day we went. Would not recommend other than to avoid at all costs!

Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi Brent - thank you for taking the time to write your review. As we are trying to address these points, we would appreciate if you could contact us on info@35south.co.nz with information on what the issue was with the food you received. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Probably the best venue to sit and take in the Bay of Islands being perched over the sea next to the Paihia Wharf. Only drank there so cannot comment about food

Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi there - we are pleased to hear that you found the deck relaxing and enjoyed the views! We hope you had a pleasant experience in Paihia! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I would not go there ever again!!!
Went to the bar to order couple of drinks and the bar tender asked ask us to sit down at the table. Waited for 20 min before a waitress came around to our table and finally took our order. Waited for another 10 minutes and left the restaurant without our drinks. Really dissapointed.

Thank Arishka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi there - thank you for writing your review. We are currently addressing the issue of simply ordering at the bar on the deck - the idea is that you take a seat so that we can locate you on a table in case drinks are ordered that cannot be made while you wait. This should have been conveyed politely however and you should have received a more prompt service. We are sorry to hear that you left without your drinks. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Came here for breakfast on Anzac day and waited for ten minutes before my husband and I were given a menu. Another 10 before we decided to flag a waitress down to place our order. 25 minutes passed and we noticed other tables were getting their plates so we spoke to a waitress. She told us our toast had been burnt and they had to start again. Another waitress appeared straight after and told us he issue was that our order had been misplaced. When the food finally arrived it was the completely wrong order. Ended up walking out and going to the upstairs café across the road where the service was amazing.

We are so disappointed. Only good thing going for this restaurant is the location.

Thank Hayleypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alongside also viewed

 

Been to Alongside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing